caution (April 26, 2020) Tennessee State University is continuing to monitor the coronavirus (COVID-19), and is committed to using all resources to keep the TSU Family abreast of the latest information regarding academic delivery, campus operations and COVID-19. TSU students needing more information about online classes or campus operations should visit the Student Information section. Learn More Here.

Tigerbelle Barbara Jones-Slater inducted into the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame
Monday, February 14, 2011


Nashville, Tenn. - Tennessee State University legendary Tigerbelle, Barbara Jones-Slater was honored on Friday with an induction into the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame.

She becomes the 25th honoree affiliated with TSU athletics and eighth Tigerbelle to join former Tigerbelle head coach Ed Temple as an inductee.

A native of Chicago, Jones competed for the United States at the 1952 Summer Olympics held in Helsinki, Finland, where she won the gold medal in the 4 x 100m relay with her TSU teammates Mae Faggs, Janet Moreau and Catherine Hardy.

At the age of 15 years, she became the youngest female of any nation to have won an Olympic gold medal in track & field.

After enrolling at TSU (1957-1960), she missed the following Olympics, but returned in the 1960 Summer Olympics held in Rome, Italy in the 4 x 100 meters, where she again won the gold medal with fellow Tigerbelles, Martha Hudson, Lucinda Williams and Olympic 100 and 200 meters champion, Wilma Rudolph.

Jones-Slater adds another milestone to her resume after being inducted into the U.S. National Track and Field Hall of Fame in 1976 and the International Hall of Fame in 1996. In November she received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the President's Council on Fitness, Sports and Nutrition.

TSU Athletes, Coaches and Administrators Inducted in the Tennessee Sports Hall of Fame

2009 - *"Jefferson Street" Joe Gilliam, Jr.

2008 - Madeline Manning Mims

2007 - Joe Gilliam, Sr.

2006 - Richard Dent

2005 - Dick "Skull" Barnett

2004 - Lloyd Neal

2002 - Chandra Cheesborough

2001 - Lucinda Williams Adams

1999 - *Mae Faggs Starr

1998 - Leonard "Truck" Robinson (img1) (img2) (img3) (img4) 

1998 - Margaret Matthews Wilburn 

1997 - Theodore McClain  - (img) 

1994 - *Ed Martin (img) 

1993 - *John B. McClendon - (img) 

1992 - *Dr. Walter Davis   - (athletic bio) 

1989 - *"Big" John Merritt - (img) 

1988 - *Howard Gentry Sr. (img) 

1988 - Claude Humphrey (img) 

1975 - Edith McGuire Duvall

1973 - Wyomia Tyus Simburg

1972 - Edward Temple

1970 - Ralph Boston - (bio2) 

1968 - *John (Rabbit) Barnhill - (img) 

1967 - *Wilma Rudolph