XC Teams Round Out Team Standings at OVC Championship
Saturday, October 31, 2009

Nashville, Tenn. - The Tennessee State University men and women's cross country teams both finished in 10th place at the  2009 Ohio Valley Conference Cross Country Championship on Saturday morning (10/31) at Edwin Warner Park in Nashville, Tenn.

The men scored 300 points with the women totaling 304.

Eastern Kentucky's men and women squads captured a double championship for the fourth straight season.

EKU's Wesley Ruttoh and favorite Picoty Leitich captured the individual titles respectively.

EKU's men scored 22 points followed by second place, Eastern Illinois (89). Southeast Missouri State (98) placed third with Jacksonville State (122), Tennessee Tech (130), Morehead State (144), UT Martin (161), Austin Peay State (211), and Murray State (236) rounding out the team scores.

On the women's side, EKU finished with 32 points. Murray State finished in second place with 63 points followed by EIU with 65 points. The team standings were closed out by SEMO (104), JSU (145), MSU (166), UT Martin (187). TTU (187), and APSU (239).

Junior Chris Hobbs was the top finisher for TSU with a time of 33:57.85. On the women side, senior Jasmine Jacobs finished with a time of 23:51.90 to lead the Tigerbelles. 

The championship concludes TSU's 2009 cross country season.