caution (April 26, 2020) Tennessee State University is continuing to monitor the coronavirus (COVID-19), and is committed to using all resources to keep the TSU Family abreast of the latest information regarding academic delivery, campus operations and COVID-19. TSU students needing more information about online classes or campus operations should visit the Student Information section. Learn More Here.

Moss and Williams selected to All-OVC teams
Wednesday, November 17, 2010

Nashville --- Junior Shaquita Williams and Freshman Erika Moss were named to the 2010 All-Ohio Valley Conference Volleyball teams as announced by the league office.

Williams, a native of Huntsville, Ala., was selected to the All-OVC team while Moss (Fort Wayne, Ind.) garnered an All-Newcomer team recognition.

Moss guided the TSU offense this season and tallied a total of 952 sets (9.43/ set). She was also solid defensively, turning in 239 digs and 32 total blocks. She finished the season ranked fourth in the league in assists and registered 59 kills for the Tigers.

Williams finished the season ranked second on the team in overall kills, kills per set and hitting percentage. The middle blocker/ outside hitter, was in the top five in the OVC in service aces and was recently named the Ohio Valley Conference player of the week, for her efforts.

This marks the first time since 2007 that two TSU players have been named to the All-OVC teams. In 2007, Kelly Davis and Endia Oliver received all-conference honors.



2010 All-Ohio Valley Conference Volleyball Teams
(voted on by the league's head volleyball coaches and sports information directors)

Holly Evans, Morehead State     
Kaitlin Craven, Morehead State*
Nikki Doyle, Austin Peay
Leah Meffert, Tennessee Tech*
Kirstie Brangers, Morehead State
Ashley Nenninger, Murray State
Caitlin Vorbeck, Jacksonville State
Jade Guo, Murray State#
Shaquita Williams, Tennessee State
Jessica Mollmann, Austin Peay#
Kelsey Orr, Eastern Illinois
Kasey Elswick, UT Martin
Lauren Synder, Eastern Kentucky#
Abby O'Connor, Eastern Kentucky


Nikki Doyle, Austin Peay
Ashley Edmond, Eastern Kentucky
Reynae Hutchinson, Eastern Illinois
Erika Moss, Tennessee State
Allison May, Tennessee Tech    
Emily Coon, Southeast Missouri
Natalie Penrod, Tennessee Tech

* - All-OVC First Team in 2009
# - All-OVC Second Team in 2009

OVC Player of the Year:  Holly Evans, Morehead State
OVC Freshman of the Year:  Ashley Edmond, Eastern Kentucky
OVC Defensive Player of the Year: Kasey Elswick, UT Martin
OVC Coach of the Year:  Jaime Gordon, Morehead State