caution (April 26, 2020) Tennessee State University is continuing to monitor the coronavirus (COVID-19), and is committed to using all resources to keep the TSU Family abreast of the latest information regarding academic delivery, campus operations and COVID-19. TSU students needing more information about online classes or campus operations should visit the Student Information section. Learn More Here.

Loveless Named to OVC All-Newcomer Team
Tuesday, May 7, 2019
Loveless Named to OVC All-Newcomer Team

NASHVILLE --- Freshman Raven Loveless was selected to the Ohio Valley Conference All-Newcomer Team as announced on Tuesday evening by the conference office. The pitcher becomes the eighth Tiger in school history to be given this honor. Loveless joins Joselynn Yates, who was named in 2015, Kiarra Freeman (2013), Shea Morris (2012), Tamara Perkins (2007), Amanda Vaught (2007), Emily Samana (2006) and Candace Hildebrand (2006) to earn the award.

Loveless finished 11-13 with one save and a 2.96 earned run average. The 11 wins is the most for a Tiger pitcher in a season since 2012 and is tied with Amanda Vaught (2008) and Shea Morris (2012) for the fifth most victories in a single season at TSU.

The Alexander, Ark. product appeared in 30 contests, starting 23, and fanned 63 batters opposed to 31 walks in 146.2 innings. Loveless tossed shutouts against Tennessee Tech and at SIUE, which tied her for seventh on the TSU single season shutout list, as well as the career list.

Loveless excelled as a fielding pitcher recording 65 assists, which led the nation for hurlers who did not play another position. The total finished second only to Sarah Snell (113) for the Big Blue and was 16th for all players in the OVC.

All-OVC First Team
P – Morgan Rackel, Austin Peay
P – Faith Sims, Jacksonville State
P  - Haley Thogmartin, Southeast Missouri
C – Carly Mattson, Austin Peay
IF – Hannah Clark, Eastern Kentucky
IF – Anna Chisolm, Jacksonville State
IF – Ashley Ellis, Southeast Missouri
IF – Karsen Mosley, Jacksonville State
OF - Rachel Anderson, Southeast Missouri
OF – Kacy Acree, Austin Peay
OF – Taylor Beshears, Jacksonville State
UTIL/DP – Danielle Liermann, Austin Peay

All-OVC  Second Team
P – Hannah James, Murray State
P – Brooklin Lee, Belmont
C – Zoe Mihalicz, Eastern Kentucky
IF – Megan Burton, Eastern Illinois
IF – Destinee Lizzmore, Eastern Kentucky
IF – Lexi Osowski, Austin Peay
IF – Zoe Schafer, SIUE
OF – Paige Clark, UT Martin
OF – Baylee Cook, Belmont
OF – Claudia Gallo, Southeast Missouri
OF – Sammi Miller, Eastern Kentucky
UTIL/DP – Haley Mitchell, Eastern Illinois

All-Newcomer Team
Alyssa Arden, Tennessee Tech
Hannah James, Murray State
Kylie Lane, SIUE
Raleigh Lewis, Tennessee Tech
Raven Loveless, Tennessee State
Audrey Lyle, Belmont
Taylor Makowsky, Murray State
Sammi Miller, Eastern Kentucky
Karsen Mosely, Jacksonville State
Lexi Osowski, Austin Peay
Lexi Ray, UT Martin
Haylee Short, UT Martin

OVC Player of the Year: Rachel Anderson, Southeast Missouri
OVC Pitcher of the Year: Faith Sims, Jacksonville State
OVC Freshman of the Year: Hannah James, Murray State
OVC Coach of the Year: Mark Redburn, Southeast Missouri