caution (April 26, 2020) Tennessee State University is continuing to monitor the coronavirus (COVID-19), and is committed to using all resources to keep the TSU Family abreast of the latest information regarding academic delivery, campus operations and COVID-19. TSU students needing more information about online classes or campus operations should visit the Student Information section. Learn More Here.

Ten TSU Student-Athletes Earn OVC Academic Medal of Honor
Wednesday, August 9, 2017
Ten TSU Student-Athletes Earn OVC Academic Medal of Honor
10 TSU Student-Athletes Posted a 4.0 GPA in 2016-17


BRENTWOOD, Tenn. --- The Ohio Valley Conference announced this year’s winners of the Academic Medal of Honor, given annually to the student-athletes who achieve the highest grade point average in a Conference-sponsored sport for the 2016-17 academic year. Tennessee State University finished with 10 award winners who all posted perfect 4.0 GPAs last year.

2016-17 OVC MEDAL OF HONOR WINNERS – Tennessee State
Cherlie Adorno-DeJesus – Volleyball
Emma Colegrove – Softball
Megan Huppee – Softball
Grant Maddox – Men’s Tennis
Pragati Natraj – Women’s Tennis
Shashank Nautiyal – Men’s Tennis
Samantha Palma – Women’s Basketball
Natalie Spicer – Women’s Golf
Amani Taylor – Women’s Track and Field
Abhilasha Vishwanath – Women’s Tennis

- Among TSU’s honorees, Grant Maddox is three-time OVC Medal of Honor winner (2015, 2016, 2017). 
- TSU’s two-time winners include Emma Colegrove (2016, 2017), Pragati Natraj (2016, 2017), Abhilasha Vishwanath (2016, 2017) and Samantha Palma (2015, 2017).
- Across the 12 institutions in the OVC, a total of 221 student-athletes registered 4.0 GPAs for the academic year.
- The total is the second highest in OVC history, trailing only the 238 in 2015-16.