2017 Athletics Awards Banquet Highlight Video
Friday, April 28, 2017
2017 Athletics Awards Banquet Highlight Video

NASHVILLE --- Tennessee State University athletics celebrated this year's student-athletes at the annual awards banquet on Thursday, April 20. Check out this highlight video from the annual event.

Video by Drew Goodwin

Joe W. Gilliam Defensive Player of the Year- Christopher Collins
Eldridge Dickey Offensive Player of the Year-Patrick Smith
Sidney Crutchfield Special Teams Player of the Year- Lane Clark
Richard Dent-Defensive Lineman-Ebenezer Ogundeko
Vernon Holland Offensive Lineman of the Year-Jessamen Dunker
Alvin “CAT” Coleman Offensive Back of the Year-Earl Harrison
Ed “Too Tall” Jones Most improved Player-Kevin Keaton
Fred Lee Spirit Award-Steven Newbold
Dominique Rodgers Cromartie (DRC) Defensive Back of the Year- Ezra Robinson
Heart of a Tiger Courage Award-Ronald Butler
MVP-I’mani Davis
Most Improved – Tiana Parker and Tia Wooten
Long Distance Award - Diamond Beatty
MVP - Chloe Watson
Rookie of the Yea r- Julia Pierson
Men’s Tennis
MVP- Kyle Burton
Newcomer of the Year - Matthew Brown
Tiger Coaches Award -Shashank Nautiyal
Women’s Tennis
MVP- Ani Popiashvili
Newcomer of the Year-Ashia Jones
Tiger Coaches Award- Phyllicia Hemphill
Men’s Cross Country
MVP – Quamel Prince 
Women’s Cross Country
MVP- Kayla Pryor
Women’s Indoor Track and Field
MVP - Amber Hughes
Men’s Indoor Track and Field
MVP- Quamel Prince
Women’s Outdoor Track and Field
MVP- Amber Hughes
Men’s Outdoor Track and Field
Quamel Prince
Men’s Golf
MVP- Jermey Fultz
Women’s Golf
MVP – Natalie Spicer
Male Athlete of the Year
Quamel Prince – Men’s Track and Field
Female Athlete of the Year
Amber Hughes – Women’s Track and Field
Male Lifter of the Year
Men’s Basketball-Christian  Mekowulu
Female Lifter of the Year
Women’s Track and Field - Raven Davis
Top Male Academic Excellence Award
Grant Maddox - Men’s Tennis
Kyle Burton - Men’s Tennis
Top Female Academic Excellence Award 
Emma Colegrove - Softball
Pragati Natraj  - Women’s Tennis
Abhilasha Vishwanath - Women’s Tennis 
Academic Awards 
Samson Oyediran - Men’s Basketball
Samantha Palma - Women’s Basketball
Kyle Washington-Scott - Men’s Track and Field
Raven Davis - Women’s Track and Field
Lane Clark - Football
Rosario Falzone - Men’s Golf
Natalie Spicer - Women’s Golf
Emma Colegrove - Softball
Grant Maddox - Men’s Tennis
Pragati Natraj - Women’s Tennis
Abhilasha Vishwanath - Women’s Tennis
Samantha Beltran  - Volleyball
Little Tiger Awards
Jakai Reilly
Sagaia Reilly
Jeniah Gaines