caution (April 26, 2020) Tennessee State University is continuing to monitor the coronavirus (COVID-19), and is committed to using all resources to keep the TSU Family abreast of the latest information regarding academic delivery, campus operations and COVID-19. TSU students needing more information about online classes or campus operations should visit the Student Information section. Learn More Here.

Flying Tigers Sweep Long Jump in Day One of OVC Championship
Saturday, May 2, 2009

Flying Tigers Take Top-Three in Long Jump, Moore, Johnson and Davis Qualify for Finals

Richmond, Ky. - The Flying Tigers opened day one of the 2009 OVC Outdoor Track and Field Championship with a top-three sweep of the long jump while qualifying for the finals in three running events Friday (5/1) at the Tom Samuels Track. TSU currently sits in fourth place in the team standings with 27 points.

Southeast Missouri State leads with 58 points followed by Eastern Illinois (47) and Eastern Kentucky (38).

The Flying Tigers scored all of their points in day one courtesy of field events. In the long jump sweep, junior Darreal Beal won the long jump with a mark of 23'02.75". Freshman Avian Hughes followed in second with a leap of 22'09.75" and sophomore Xavier Walton took third at 22'04.50". Adrien Hill rounded off the Tiger competitors finishing fourth overall jumping 22'01.50"

In the high jump, junior Jamal Henderson finished sixth with a season best clearing 6'04.00".

On th track, freshman Nathaniel Moore posted career times in the 400-meter and 200-meter dash events to qualify for tomorrow's final. Moore ran the second fastest time on the day in the 400 at 47.86 seconds and completed the 200 at 21.64 seconds.

In the 100-meter dash, junior Dwayne Johnson and freshman Lequinn Davis also posted season marks to make it to the finals. Johnson qualified running 10.77 seconds with Davis posting 10.84 seconds.

Tomorrow's finals will begin with the women's triple jump scheduled for a 9 a.m.start with the men's 4x100-meter relay set to begin the running events at 10 a.m. The meet will conclude with the final award ceremony.