caution (April 26, 2020) Tennessee State University is continuing to monitor the coronavirus (COVID-19), and is committed to using all resources to keep the TSU Family abreast of the latest information regarding academic delivery, campus operations and COVID-19. TSU students needing more information about online classes or campus operations should visit the Student Information section. Learn More Here.

Saturday, May 3, 2003
NASHVILLE---The Tennessee State University Men's and Women's Track teams both captured third-place finishes at the 2003 Ohio Valley Conference Track and Field Championships. The two-day event was hosted by TSU and held on the campus at the Edward S. Temple Track. The Tigers (127) were led by Nick Horton who captured a first-place finish in the 200- and 400-meter events with a time of 21.63 and 46.85, respectively. Horton was also a part of 4x100 and 4x400 relay teams. Ande Durojaye also claimed a top finish in the men's high jump with a mark of 6'07.00?. Capturing the men's crown for the seventh straight year was Eastern Illinois with 236.33 points. Claiming second-place was Southeast Missouri with a score of 141. Rounding out the men's field of six teams was Eastern Kentucky (124), Murray State (83.33), and Morehead State (21.33). On the women's side, shocking the 2002 champion Tigerbelles were Southeast Missouri and Eastern Kentucky collecting 193 and 174 points, respectively. Following Tennessee State in fourth-place was Eastern Illinois with 108 points. Austin Peay (40), Murray State (39.50), Tennessee Tech (21), Morehead State (13), and UT Martin (12) finished out the women's field of nine teams. Despite losing the title, Tennessee State (140.5) collected regional qualifying times of 45.87 in the 4x100 and 3:41.72 in the 4x400. Ashley Byrd (38'09.75?), Shereka Roby (38'07.75?), and Qiana Smith (38'01.25?) were the top three finishers for the women's triple jump. Up next for TSU will be the NCAA Mid-East Regional on May 30th and 31st. The event will be hosted by Ohio State University and is scheduled to be held at the Jesse Owens Memorial Stadium.

OVC Track and Field Championship Results