caution (April 26, 2020) Tennessee State University is continuing to monitor the coronavirus (COVID-19), and is committed to using all resources to keep the TSU Family abreast of the latest information regarding academic delivery, campus operations and COVID-19. TSU students needing more information about online classes or campus operations should visit the Student Information section. Learn More Here.

TSU's Washington Selected Second Team All-OVC
Thursday, April 19, 2012

Lawrence Washington, a senior on the Tennessee State University men's tennis team, garnered second team All-Ohio Valley Conference honors as announced by the league on Thursday evening.

The Canton, Mich., native played in the top slot for the Tigers the past three seasons. Washington completed a 7-4 record this year, leading the Tigers to a pair of victories over Mississippi Valley State. On Wednesday, Washington was named the OVC Tennis Male Athlete of the Week for his 4-0 performance last week.

Washington is the first TSU men's tennis athlete to earn All-Conference recognition since the program began. After transferring from Kennesaw State his freshman year, Washington completed a 20-18 record in his tenure with the Big Blue.

Tennessee State finished the season with a 2-10 overall record and 0-8 in the OVC, falling short of the OVC Conference Tournament.

2012 All-Ohio Valley Conference Men's Tennis Teams
(voted on by the league's head tennis coaches)

Sean Bailey, Austin Peay
Hugo Klientovsky, Eastern Kentucky
Igor Santos, Jacksonville State
Jasmin Ademovic, Austin Peay
Syrym Abduklhalikov, Tennessee Tech
Arthur Valle, Murray State

Alejandro Augusto, Tennessee Tech
Alekas Tverijonas, Austin Peay
Nik Schroeder, Eastern Kentucky
Marten Jonsson, SIUE
Lawrence Washington, Tennessee State
Dimitar Ristovski, Austin Peay
Parul Verma, Eastern Kentucky
Nedad Marcec, Jacksonville State

(Eight players appear on the second team due to a tie)

OVC PLAYER OF THE YEAR:  Sean Bailey, Austin Peay
OVC CO-FRESHMEN OF THE YEAR: Marten Jonsson, SIUE; Alejandro Augusto, Tennessee Tech
OVC COACH OF THE YEAR: Kenny Doyle, Tennessee Tech