caution (April 26, 2020) Tennessee State University is continuing to monitor the coronavirus (COVID-19), and is committed to using all resources to keep the TSU Family abreast of the latest information regarding academic delivery, campus operations and COVID-19. TSU students needing more information about online classes or campus operations should visit the Student Information section. Learn More Here.

Wednesday, March 3, 2004
NASHVILLE --- The Tennessee State men's and women's tennis teams fell to visiting crosstown rival David Lipscomb on Tuesday afternoon in their 2004 home opener at Hadley Park. The men were swept, 7-0, while the women's squad fell, 6-1. After dropping the doubles point, the Lady Tigers set out to rebound in singles action. The most heated match of the day was at No. 1 singles for the women. Senior Danetta Rachael (Nashville, Tenn.) narrowly won the tiebreaker, 10-8, to defeat Emily Ellis after going 3-6, 6-3 in earlier sets. In men's action, Lipscomb never let up once it hit the courts. The Bison easily took the doubles point and continued to play strong into singles action, allowing Tennessee State to only record five points in singles action. Tennessee State returns to action on March 11 as it travels to Murray State for matches beginning at 2 p.m. Women's Singles 1. Danetta Rachael (TSU) d. E. Ellis (DLU), 3-6, 6-3, 10-8 2. V. Baldwin (DLU) d. Melaney Whiting (TSU), 6-4, 6-1 3. J. McDonald (DLU) d. Martina Goldthreate (TSU), 6-0, 6-1 4. E. McFarlin (DLU) d. Kamiesha Wilson (TSU), 6-1, 6-0 5. M. Muncher (DLU) d. Martene Fair (TSU), 6-0, 6-0 6. Casey Hall (DLU) won by default Women's Doubles 1. Ellis/Baldwin (DLU) d. Rachael/Goldthreate (TSU) 8-6 2. Muncher/Hall (DLU) d. Whiting/Wilson (TSU) 8-0 3. McDonald/McFarlin (DLU) won by default Men's Singles 1. Mike Sherman (DLU) d. Jamaal Brown (TSU), 6-1, 6-2 2. Andrew Harris (DLU) d. LaDarrell Collier (TSU), 6-1, 6-1 3. Jonathan Houston (DLU) d. Vaughn Evans (TSU), 6-0, 6-0 4. Zack Bowman (DLU) d. Christopher Neely (TSU), 6-0 ,6-0 5. Colten Jones (DLU) won by default 6. Pedro Franco (DLU) won by default Men's Doubles 1. Carrillo/Taylor (DLU) d. Brown/Collier (TSU) 8-3 2. Franco/Chappell (DLU) d. Neely/Evans (TSU) 8-0