caution (April 26, 2020) Tennessee State University is continuing to monitor the coronavirus (COVID-19), and is committed to using all resources to keep the TSU Family abreast of the latest information regarding academic delivery, campus operations and COVID-19. TSU students needing more information about online classes or campus operations should visit the Student Information section. Learn More Here.

Men's golf gears up for Fossum Invitational
Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Nashville --- The Tennessee State University men's golf team will open the fall season at the Fossum Invitational hosted by Michigan State this weekend.

The tournament is scheduled for Sept. 3-4 and has a 9 a.m. shotgun start at the Forest Akers West Golf Course (par 72, 7,013 yards). The teams will shoot 36 holes on Saturday and 18 holes on Sunday.

Forest Akers Golf Courses are recognized as two of the best public golf courses in the state of Michigan and home to the Big Ten champion Michigan State University Men's and Women's Golf Teams. Golf Digest has given Forest Akers West Course a four and a half star rating and the East Course a four star rating.

The field of teams include:  Alabama State, Canisius, Chicago State, Evansville, IPFW, IUPUI, Jackson State, Michigan State, North Dakota, Oakland, St. Francis (Pa.), Tennessee State, Valparaiso, Youngstown State.

The Fossum/Spartan Invitational began in 1966 with eight schools participating and grew to 25 teams in the late 1970s.

The tournament was renamed in 1992 in honor of Bruce Fossum, longtime Spartan coach and teacher. Among his many coaching laurels is his induction into the Golf Coaches Association of America Hall of Fame in 1985. Fossum's wife, Mary (MSU's former women's golf coach), was inducted into the hall in 1988, making the pair the only husband-wife team in the GCAA Hall of Fame. Bruce was the chairman of the NCAA Golf Committee from 1971 to 1975 and president of the Golf Coaches Association of America from 1977 through 1979.

Michigan State has won the title 10 times, including the last three held in 2007, 2009 and 2010, in the 42-year existence of the Fossum/Spartan Invitational.