caution (April 26, 2020) Tennessee State University is continuing to monitor the coronavirus (COVID-19), and is committed to using all resources to keep the TSU Family abreast of the latest information regarding academic delivery, campus operations and COVID-19. TSU students needing more information about online classes or campus operations should visit the Student Information section. Learn More Here.

James Stepp wins Music City Invitational Championship
Thursday, June 14, 2012
James Stepp wins Music City Invitational Championship


Tennessee State University men's golfer James Stepp won the 2012 Music City Invitational Championship held at Harpeth Hills Golf Course.

The tournament, which took place, June 8-10, featured more than 50 participants. Harpeth Hills is a par 72, 6,899 golf course with four par 5's, 10 par 4's, and four par 3's.

Stepp, a native of Cheatham, Tenn., finished the three-day event at one-under-par 215. His round scores were 72, 71 and 72, respectively. He finished just one-stroke ahead of second place Kevin Watford while Philip Guess notched third.

Heading into the final day of the tournament, Stepp was knotted in a three-way tie for first place. A two-putt birdie on the par-five eighth hole moved him into second before he regained the lead on hole 14.

From 175 out, Stepp hit a shot one-foot off the green and nearly chipped it in for birdie.  

Making par on the next two holes Stepp managed to add more excitement to the round by hitting his second shot on the par five 17th in to the foot tall rough left of the green. He pitched out to the green only to have the ball roll off the back with a difficult chip shot ahead.

He holed the shot for a birdie to take a two-stroke lead which seemed to be in jeopardy when his tee shot on 18 found the trees right of the fairway. Punching out to play safe, Stepp managed to nail a three-foot putt for the win.

Stepp will share a spot on the Music City Invitational Trophy with other Nashville greats such as Brandt and Haymes Snedeker, Mike Nixon and 2011 winner Derek Centers.