caution (April 26, 2020) Tennessee State University is continuing to monitor the coronavirus (COVID-19), and is committed to using all resources to keep the TSU Family abreast of the latest information regarding academic delivery, campus operations and COVID-19. TSU students needing more information about online classes or campus operations should visit the Student Information section. Learn More Here.

Golf's Chris Seibel named to All-OVC first team
Monday, April 26, 2010

Nashville --- Tennessee State University men's golf senior Chris Seibel was named to the 2010 All-OVC first team.

Seibel, the first TSU golfer to be named to the All-OVC team since 2005, was third in the league at 72.8 strokes per round, just 0.4 strokes behind the top average. The senior played in eight total events and had four top five and six top 10 finishes.

Most recently, Seibel was recognized as the 2010 TSU Male Athlete of the Year during the annual athletic department banquet. 

Last year, the Indianapolis, Ind. native was celebrated for his stellar performance at the PGA Division I Minority National Championship. In the final round he shot a one-under par 71, birdied the 17th hole and saved par on No. 18 to secure the title. Seibel finished shooting three-under par 216 (70-72-71).

The Human Performance and Sports Sciences major has been a member of the TSU golf team since 2006 and has continued to make a consistent impact on the team throughout his four years on campus. His stroke average has improved each season and he is currently averaging the best numbers of his career.

He received his first conference honor when he was named OVC Golfer of the Week on March 25, 2009. He garnered the recognition after finishing with rounds of 78 and 74 to finish at 152 (8-over-par) at the Butler Spring Invitational. He placed seventh overall, tops among OVC competitors at the event.

For the fourth year in a row the All-OVC first and second-teams were determined by GolfStat National Rankings. OVC coaches voted on the All-Newcomer Team and Freshman of the Year awards.

The first team selections also include Austin Peay's Erik Barnes, Jacksonville State's Tom Robson, Murray State's Nick Newcomb and Zack Butler from Eastern Kentucky. 

The OVC Player and Coach of the Year awards will be announced on Wednesday afternoon following the final round of play at the championship, which is being held at the GreyStone Golf Club in Dickson, Tenn.