Prince Leads Men's Cross Country at Belmont Opener
Saturday, September 3, 2016
Prince Leads Men's Cross Country at Belmont Opener



NASHVILLE --- Quamel Prince (Nashville, Tenn.) kicked off his senior season with a strong showing at the Belmont Opener on Saturday morning at Percy Warner Park to lead the Tennessee State men’s cross country team.

Running a 5K course, Prince clocked in at 16:09.9 to earn 39th place overall in the competitive field. As a team, Tennessee State finished in seventh place with 208 points.

Freshman Zebedee Lunsford (Anniston, Ala.) was TSU’s second-place finisher, crossing the finish line in 19:06.3. He was followed closely by Deontae Henderson (Minneapolis, Minn.) and Zyhir Baker-Elam (Philadelphia, Pa.) with times of 19:20.0 and 19:20.9, respectively. Jontue McDowell (Jacksonville, Fla.) rounded out TSU’s scoring with a 19:26.9 finish.

Belmont won the team competition with 26 total points, followed by Lipscomb (47) and Chattanooga (83) in the top three. Kaleb McLeod, who was running unattached, won the individual title with a time of 15:18.8.

The Flying Tigers return to action on Saturday, Sept. 17, for the Asics Embry-Riddle Classic in Daytona Beach, Fla.

Tennessee State Director of Track and Field Chandra Cheeseborough-Guice
“I think we’re starting out really well. We need to get a little more mileage in during the week, so we can work on that. The freshmen looked really good today, so I think we did pretty well.”
- On how the men’s team performed

“Quamel Prince was close to his goal of running under 16 (minutes). He was right there. He definitely will get it, and I believe he’ll PR for the season before it’s all over. He’s running really well in practice and working really hard
- On the performance of Quamel Prince

39. Quamel Prince – 16:09.9
94. Zebedee Lunsford – 19:06.3
95. Deontae Henderson – 19:20.0
96. Zyhir Baker-Elam – 19:20.9
97. Jontue McDowell – 19:26.9
100. Quintsontro Irby, Jr. – 20:59.7

1. Belmont – 26
2. Lipscomb – 46
3. Chattanooga – 80
4. Vanderbilt – 94
5. Murray State – 125
6. Austin Peay – 175
7. Tennessee State – 208