caution (April 26, 2020) Tennessee State University is continuing to monitor the coronavirus (COVID-19), and is committed to using all resources to keep the TSU Family abreast of the latest information regarding academic delivery, campus operations and COVID-19. TSU students needing more information about online classes or campus operations should visit the Student Information section. Learn More Here.

TSU XC Teams Place Sixth at PowerAde Invite
Saturday, September 10, 2011
Chattanooga, Tenn. - The Tennessee State University men's and women's cross country teams wrapped up their first meet of the season at the PowerAde Invitational in Chattanooga on Friday, Sept. 9.

Both the men and women placed sixth overall in the meet held at the Moccasin Bend Race Course.  On the women's side, Lipscomb won the two-mile race with 21 points, while Chattanooga claimed the men's 5K title with 31 points.

Freshman Leah Carr earned the best finish for the Tigerbelles, pacing 13:59 in the two mile race for 48th place. Charita Harris immediately followed with a time of 14:01.

Tiffany Harris and Gabrielle Todd clocked times of 14:15 and 14:55, respectively, to finish 51st and 52nd in the meet. Kya Riley (15:57) and Ashontae Jackson (16:22) rounded out the times for TSU.

In the men's 5K, Chris Hobbs led the Flying Tigers with a 42nd place finish, running the course in 17:32. Jonathan Owens followed with a pace of 17:40.

Three freshmen followed next for TSU as Desmond Trice notched his first collegiate run in 18:32. Bryan Herrera ran a time of 18:43, while Adrian McDaniel's time was 18:52.

Jamil Jackson and Donnie Johnson followed with times of 19:01 and 19:15, respectively. Brooklyn, N.Y., native Jahleel Michael closed out the meet for Tennessee State, posting a time of 20:11.

TSU's next cross country meet is scheduled for Saturday, Sept. 17 at the Vanderbilt Commodore Classic.

Leah Carr - 13:59 (48th)
Charita Harris - 14:01 (49th)
Tiffany Harris - 14:15 (51st)
Gabrielle Todd - 14:55 (52nd)
Kya Riley - 15:57 (54th)
Ashontae Jackson - 16:22 (55th)

1) Lipscomb - 21
2) Middle Tennessee State - 64
3) Jacksonville State - 65
4) Chattanooga - 99
5) Tennessee Martin - 118
6) Tennessee State - 161

Chris Hobbs - 17:32 (42nd)
Jonathan Owens - 17:40 (43rd)
Bryan Herrera - 18:43 (49th)
Adrian McDaniel - 18:52 (50th)
Jamil Jackson - 19:01 (51st)
Donnie Johnson - 19:15 (52nd)
Jahleel Michael - 20:11 (53rd)

1) Chattanooga - 31
2) Middle Tennessee State - 55
3) Lipscomb - 56
4) Tennessee Martin - 99
5) Jacksonville State - 108
6) Tennessee State - 176

-- TSU Tigers --