caution (April 26, 2020) Tennessee State University is continuing to monitor the coronavirus (COVID-19), and is committed to using all resources to keep the TSU Family abreast of the latest information regarding academic delivery, campus operations and COVID-19. TSU students needing more information about online classes or campus operations should visit the Student Information section. Learn More Here.

TSU XC Finish 2011 Season at OVC Championship
Saturday, October 29, 2011
Richmond, Ky. - The Tennessee State University men's and women's cross country teams closed out the 2011 season at the Ohio Valley Conference Championship hosted by Eastern Kentucky University on Saturday.

The Flying Tigers placed ninth in the 8K race, posting 289 points. TSU's Tigerbelles earned 10th with 321 accumulated points in the 5K race at the Arlington Club course in Richmond. Host EKU won the men's OVC title, while Eastern Illinois claimed the women's championship.

Senior Chris Hobbs wrapped up his strong career with his fifth top-finish of the season. The Athens, Ala., product ran the 8K in 29:28.29 (58th overall), narrowly missing his season-best set at the Commodore Classic in September.  

Jonathan Owens followed with a personal-best time of 29:37.10 to earn 59th overall. Adrian McDaniel finished 64th, pacing a time of 30:28.72. Freshman Jamill Jackson followed with a time of 30:31.49 (65th).

Freshman Desmond Trice paced a time of 30:49.30 (67th), while Donnie Johnson (32:27.58, 69th) and Jahleel Michael (33:39.01, 70th) rounded out TSU's finish.

Freshman Leah Carr claimed her third best-finish for the Tigerbelles with a career-best pace of 21:25.22 (65th overall) in the 5K course. Sophomore Charita Harris followed in 68th place with a time of 21:55.89.

Tiffany Harris paced a time of 22:21.16 to notch 70th place, while Gabrielle Todd clocked 23:52.09 for 73rd overall. Ashontae Jackson (24:16.80, 74th) and Kya Riley (25:35.96, 75th) rounded out the lineup for the Tigerbelles.

TSU Track & Field will open the indoor season on Saturday, Dec. 10 at the Christmas Invitational hosted by Middle Tennessee State University.

Leah Carr (65th) 21:25.22
Charita Harris (68th) 21:55.89
Tiffany Harris (70th) 22:21.16
Gabrielle Todd (73rd) 23:52.09
Ashontae Jackson (74th) 24:16.80
Kya Riley (75th) 25:35.96

1. Eastern Illinois - 41 points
2. Eastern Kentucky - 57 points
3. Southeast Missouri State - 88 points
4. Jacksonville State - 103 points
5. Murray State - 116 points
6. Morehead State - 142 points
7. Austin Peay - 161 points
8. UT Martin - 206 points
9. Tennessee Tech - 223 points
10. Tennessee State - 321 points

Christopher Hobbs (58th) 29:28.29
Jonathan Owens (59th) 29:37.10
Adrian McDaniel (64th) 30:28.72
Jamill Jackson (65th) 30:31.49
Desmond Trice (67th) 30:49.30
Donnie Johnson (69th) 32:27.58
Jahleel Michael (70th) 33:39.01

1. Eastern Kentucky - 18 points
2. Eastern Illinois - 62 points
3. Southeast Missouri State - 65 points
4. Morehead State - 149 points
5. UT Martin - 159 points
6. Jacksonville State - 164 points
7. Tennessee Tech - 175 points
8. Austin Peay - 201 points
9. Tennessee State - 289 points
10. Murray State - 316 points