caution (April 26, 2020) Tennessee State University is continuing to monitor the coronavirus (COVID-19), and is committed to using all resources to keep the TSU Family abreast of the latest information regarding academic delivery, campus operations and COVID-19. TSU students needing more information about online classes or campus operations should visit the Student Information section. Learn More Here.

Brian "Penny" Collins Named Finalist for Ben Jobe Award
Wednesday, March 25, 2020

Tennessee State men's basketball head coach Brian "Penny" Collins was named a Ben Jobe Award finalist by The Ben Jobe Award, which is presented annually to the top Division I minority coach, is named in honor of one of the finest men to ever college basketball.

Coach Jobe was an icon in the history of basketball at Historically Black Colleges and Universities, best known as the head coach of the Southern University, a position he held for 12 seasons. He was also head coach at Alabama A&M, Alabama State, Talladega, Tuskegee and South Carolina State. Jobe, who died in 2017, is considered one of the finest men to ever coach college basketball.

His record at Southern was 209-141 and included four NCAA Tournament appearances. He also coached the Jaguars to one NIT appearance, five SIAC championships, 11 SWAC titles and two NAIA Tournament Championships. Perhaps his most memorable moment as a coach was leading No. 15 seed Southern to a 93-78 win over No. 2 Georgia Tech in the first round of the 1993 NCAA Tournament. It stands as one of the great upsets in the history of the event.

Collins, who was named Coach of the Year by BOXTOROW on Monday, earns national recognition for his leadership in year two of his head coaching tenure at Tennessee State. Doubling his wins from year one, increasing home attendance by 350 percent, a fifth place seed in the OVC Tournament and a CIT bid were just a few of the markers of Collins' successful season. 

The Ben Jobe award committee is a 30 member panel, consisting of five current division I head coaches, five retired head coaches, 10 current athletic directors and/or conference administrators, five NBA scout and/or administrators and five staff members.  


Tommy Amaker, Harvard
Brian Collins, Tennessee State
Ed Cooley, Providence
Anthony Grant, Dayton
Leonard Hamilton, Florida State
Shaheen Holloway, Saint Peter's
Michael Huger, Bowling Green
James Jones, Yale
Joe Jones, Boston University
Mike Jones, Radford
Willie Jones, North Carolina A&T
LaVall Jordan, Butler
Shantay Legans, Eastern Washington 
Anthony Latina, Sacred Heart
Ritchie McKay, Liberty
Mark Montgomery, Northern Illinois
LeVelle Moton, North Carolina Central
David Patrick, UC Riverside
Richie Riley, South Alabama
Kelvin Sampson, Houston
Ron Sanchez, Charlotte
Byron Smith, Prairie View A&M
Damon Stoudamire, Pacific
Darrell Walker, Little Rock
Sean Woods, Southern