caution (April 26, 2020) Tennessee State University is continuing to monitor the coronavirus (COVID-19), and is committed to using all resources to keep the TSU Family abreast of the latest information regarding academic delivery, campus operations and COVID-19. TSU students needing more information about online classes or campus operations should visit the Student Information section. Learn More Here.

Carlos Marshall Named to OVC All-Newcomer and All-OVC Second Team
Tuesday, March 3, 2020
Carlos Marshall Named to OVC All-Newcomer and All-OVC Second Team

BRENTWOOD, Tenn. --- Redshirt sophomore Carlos Marshall was named to the Ohio Valley Conference's All-Newcomer Team and the All-Conference Second Team as announced by the league office Tuesday afternoon. 

The Memphis native led the Tigers in scoring through 11 games, rebounding in three and assists in five while starting 27 of the 30 games played. Marshall moves into tournament play, averaging 11.8 ppg, 4.3 rpg, shot 41.3 percent from the floor, having dished out 63 assists and registered 20 steals. 

Marshall, a guard hailing from Southwest Tennessee Community College, helped Tennessee State to its first winning record under head coach Brian " Penny" Collins, 17-14, 9-9. Marshall improved his accuracy throughout league action jumping to 13.0 ppg, 44.0 percent from the floor and 35.4 percent from three-point range. 

The last time a Tiger received spots on the Second Team and All-Newcomer team was in 2010-11 with Kenny Moore. 

OVC Player of the Year: Terry Taylor, Austin Peay
OVC Defensive Player of the Year: Grayson Murphy, Belmont
OVC Freshman of the Year: Jordyn Adams, Austin Peay
OVC Coach of the Year: A.W. Hamilton, Eastern Kentucky

Terry Taylor, Austin Peay *#^
Tevin Brown, Murray State 
Grayson Murphy, Belmont
Jomaru Brown, Eastern Kentucky !
Nick Muszynski, Belmont *!
Jordyn Adams, Austin Peay
Josiah Wallace, Eastern Illinois *!
Quinton Dove, UT Martin $
Adam Kunkel, Belmont 
KJ Williams, Murray 

Carlos Marshall, Tennessee State
arker Stewart, UT Martin
Jr. Clay, Tennessee Tech $!
Jacara Cross, Jacksonville State
Tre King, Eastern Kentucky
Mack Smith, Eastern Illinois

Jordyn Adams, Austin Peay
Parker Stewart, UT Martin
George Dixon, Eastern Illinois
Carlos Marshall Jr., Tennessee State
Kayne Henry, Jacksonville State

*All-OVC 1st Team in 2018-19
$All-OVC 2nd Team in 2018-19
!OVC All-Newcomer Tema in 2018-19
#All-OVC 1st Team in 2017-18
^OVC All-Newcomer Team in 2017-18