caution (April 26, 2020) Tennessee State University is continuing to monitor the coronavirus (COVID-19), and is committed to using all resources to keep the TSU Family abreast of the latest information regarding academic delivery, campus operations and COVID-19. TSU students needing more information about online classes or campus operations should visit the Student Information section. Learn More Here.

Anthony Mason Represented as TSU Legend at OVC Basketball Championships
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Anthony Mason Represented as TSU Legend at OVC Basketball Championships

OVC Release | OVC Legends Website

BRENTWOOD, Tenn. - For the fifth year in a row the Ohio Valley Conference will recognize men's and women's basketball legends from each of its member institutions during the OVC Basketball Championships. Anthony Mason will represent Tennessee State. 

Mason finished his career at Tennessee State as the program’s fifth all-time leading scorer (2,076) and sixth all-time leading rebounder (894). A force on the block, Mason attempted a TSU record 247 free throws during the 1987-88 season. In 1988, he became the first player in TSU history to earn All-OVC honors. He was drafted in the third round of the 1988 NBA Draft and played for the Nets, Nuggets, Knicks, Hornets, Heat and Bucks during his 13-year career. He led the Knicks to the NBA Final in 1994 and was named NBA Sixth Man of the Year in 1995.

The legends will be recognized through signage, P.A. announcements and a game program feature story during the event.

With roots dating back to 1948, the OVC and its member institutions have produced many outstanding student-athletes who have earned numerous accolades and led their respective schools to success on the hardwood.

Each OVC member institution identified both a male and female legend to be honored through signage and announcements at this year's and next year's championship. This year the league selected six male student-athletes and six female student-athletes and next year the next group of 12 legends will be honored.

This year’s OVC Basketball Championships will be held March 6-9 at the Ford Center in Evansville, Indiana.

Below is a listing of this year's honorees. For more information on each click here.

Austin Peay: L.M. Ellis (1963-65)

Belmont: Chrissie Herring (1990-94)

Eastern Illinois: Kevin Duckworth (1982-86)

Eastern Kentucky: Kim Mays (1992-95)

Jacksonville State: Jana Bright (1987-91)

Morehead State: Leonard Coulter (1971-74)

Murray State: Jeff Martin (1985-89)

Southeast Missouri: Lori Chase (1999-03)

SIUE: Keith McFarland (1973-75)

Tennessee State: Anthony Mason (1984-88)

Tennessee Tech: Jerilynn Harper (1979-82)

UT Martin: Pat Summitt (1970-74)