caution (April 26, 2020) Tennessee State University is continuing to monitor the coronavirus (COVID-19), and is committed to using all resources to keep the TSU Family abreast of the latest information regarding academic delivery, campus operations and COVID-19. TSU students needing more information about online classes or campus operations should visit the Student Information section. Learn More Here.

Christian Mekowulu Named BOXTOROW Second Team All-America
Thursday, March 29, 2018
Christian Mekowulu Named BOXTOROW Second Team All-America
Photo Courtesy of Don Claussen

NASHVILLE --- Tennessee State men’s basketball forward Christian Mekowoulu earned BOXTOROW Division I Second Team All-America accolades, it was announced on Thursday. BOXTOROW highlights student-athletes who compete for HBCUs.

  • Mekowulu has earned a number of awards this season, most notably Ohio Valley Conference Defensive Player of the Year.
  • The Lagos, Nigeria native also secured Second Team All-OVC and NABC Second Team All-District 19.
  • Throughout the season, Mekowulu was named adidas OVC Player of the Week twice and BOXTOROW National Player of the Week once.
  • Mekowulu, who recently completed his redshirt junior season, averaged 12.7 points per game to go with a team-best 7.9 rebounds per game.
  • He also led TSU in blocks (46) and double-doubles (7) in 2017-18.
  • For the third season in a row, TSU has placed a student-athlete on the BOXTOROW All-America Team. Tahjere McCall and Wayne Martin secured First Team honors for the 2016-17 season, while Keron DeShields received First Team accolades and McCall took home Third Team honors for the 2015-16 campaign.

First Team All-Americans
Gary Blackston, Prairie View A&M (G, 6-2, Jr., Baltimore, Md.)
R.J. Cole, Howard (G, 6-1, Fr., Union, N.J.)
Raashean Davis, North Carolina Central (C, 6-9, Jr., Chicago, Ill.)
Damontrae Jefferson, Texas Southern (G, 5-7, Soph., Milwaukee, Wis.)
Tiwian Kendley, Morgan State (G, 6-5, Sr., Harlem, N.Y.)
Jermaine Marrow, Hampton (G, 6-2, Soph., Newport News, Va.)
Martaveous McKnight, Arkansas-Pine Bluff (G, 6-4, Jr., Walls, Miss.)
Ivy Smith, Grambling (G, 6-0, Soph., Tacoma, Wash.)
Brandon Tabb, Bethune-Cookman (G, 6-4, Sr., Hampton)

Second Team All-Americans
Phillip Carr, Morgan State (F, 6-8, Sr., Brooklyn, N.Y.)
Donte Clark, Texas Southern (G, 6-4, Gr., Charlotte, N.C.)
Zachary Hamilton, Prairie View A&M (F, 6-4, Sr., Houston, Texas)
Christian Mekowulu, Tennessee State (F, 6-9, Jr., Lagos, Nigeria)
A.J. Mosby, Alcorn State (G, 6-3, Sr., Cartersville, Ga.)
Jared Sam, Southern (C, 6-9, Sr., Baton Rouge, La.)
Charles Williams, Howard (G/F, 6-6, Soph., Richmond, Va.)
Desmond Williams, Florida A&M (F, 6-6, Sr., Atmore, Ala.)

BOXTOROW Player of the Year: Damontrae Jefferson, Texas Southern
BOXTOROW Coaches of the Year: Jay Joyner, North Carolina A&T