caution (April 26, 2020) Tennessee State University is continuing to monitor the coronavirus (COVID-19), and is committed to using all resources to keep the TSU Family abreast of the latest information regarding academic delivery, campus operations and COVID-19. TSU students needing more information about online classes or campus operations should visit the Student Information section. Learn More Here.

Tigers Picked Second in East Division in OVC Media Poll
Friday, October 21, 2016
Tigers Picked Second in East Division in OVC Media Poll
Photo Courtesy of Katherine Seghers

BRENTWOOD, Tenn. --- In the Ohio Valley Conference Preseason Media Poll, the Tennessee State men’s basketball team was selected second in the East Division by OVC media members, it was announced on Friday morning.

The Tigers received 64 total votes, checking in behind Belmont with 82 points and 12 first-place votes to top the East Division poll. In the West Division, Murray State took all 14 of the top votes to earn the No. 1 spot with 84 points.

The media picked the reigning OVC Player of the Year, Belmont’s Evan Bradds, to repeat as he was selected as the media’s Preseason Player of the Year. Belmont was chosen as the preseason overall champion with nine first-place votes.

Tennessee State is coming off a 20-11 record in 2015-16, marking the third 20-win season for the Tigers since making the move to Division I prior to the 1977-78 season. TSU welcomes back three starters from last year’s team headlined by OVC Defensive Player of the Year Tahjere McCall (Philadelphia, Pa.).

Pollsters for the 2016-17 OVC Media Poll included: Catlin Bogard, OVC Ball; Mike Bradd, Eastern Illinois Radio; Neal Bradley, Murray State Radio; David Loos, Austin Peay Radio; Edward Marlowe, Paducah Sun; Mike Organ, The Tennessean; Brian Rives, Austin Peay Radio; Justin Rust, Journal Gazette/Times-Courier; Harry Schroeder,; Greg Stotelmyer, Eastern Kentucky Radio; Rich Tiner, Belmont Radio.

2016-17 Media OVC Preseason Men's Predicted Order of Finish
East Division

1. Belmont (12 first-place votes) - 82 points
2. Tennessee State – 64
3. Morehead State (2) – 62
4. Eastern Kentucky – 35
5. Tennessee Tech – 32
6. Jacksonville State - 19

West Division
1. Murray State (14 first-place votes) - 84 points
2. Austin Peay – 60
3. Eastern Illinois – 56
4. UT Martin – 45
5. Southeast Missouri – 28
6. SIUE - 21

Preseason Player of the Year: Evan Bradds, Belmont
Overall Champion: Belmont (9 first-place votes)