caution (April 26, 2020) Tennessee State University is continuing to monitor the coronavirus (COVID-19), and is committed to using all resources to keep the TSU Family abreast of the latest information regarding academic delivery, campus operations and COVID-19. TSU students needing more information about online classes or campus operations should visit the Student Information section. Learn More Here.

TSU Men's Basketball Celebrates Graduation
Tuesday, May 10, 2016
TSU Men's Basketball Celebrates Graduation


NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Tennessee State University student-athletes celebrated their accomplishments in the classroom as seniors walked across the stage as part of the University’s 2016 spring commencement ceremony at William Jasper Hale Stadium on campus on Saturday morning.

A total of 47 graduates from the TSU Athletic Department heard their name called as part of the ceremony for those graduating in May or with expected summer graduations.  

“I’m so excited that we have such a large number of student-athletes graduating this year,” said Dr. Johnnie Smith, TSU Associate Athletic Director for Academic Services. “This is the first year that we have had this many students graduate. It proves that academics and athletics can ride together and students can be successful at both.”

Some of the accomplishments of the group from the 2015-16 academic year alone include three First Team All-Ohio Valley Conference selections, two OVC Defensive Player of the Year Awards, two OVC All-Newcomer team honors, two First Team All-America selections and seven OVC individual medals.

Former U.S. Congressman Harold Ford, Jr. served as the Undergraduate Ceremony speaker on a bright and sunny day at Hale Stadium as TSU student-athletes joined the growing list of the school’s alumni base.

Madison Halterman
Haley Hampton

Brianna Lawrence

Blake Burgett
Kelly Merkel
Sarah Needleman

Kyle Burton

Travon Alexander
Shaquille Cragwall
Jalon McCutcheon
Sharrieff Slaughter
Jayla Burr
Clairwin Dameus
Ashontae Jackson
Keshae Johnson
Felicia Oladokun
Jasmine Owens
Oteia Prince
Sharmill Whyatt

Keron DeShields
Demontez Loman
Tahjere McCall
Jaleel Queary
Xavier Richards
Marcus Roper

Lindsey Burgess
Lauren Dreitlein
Olivia Gamache
Taylor Green
Joselynn Yates

Andrew Bather
Kilu Fontaine-Ellis
Isaiah Freeman
DeAndre Haynes
Telvin Hooks
Gershom Jordan
Antonio Justice
Sterlin Leveque
Jhaquelle Love
Sebastian Kertchival
Nathaniel McGill
Ryan Mitchell
Hakeem Parker
Thomas Smith
Harold Watson
Duaron Williams
Aaron Woods