Three Tigers Nominees for 75th Anniversary Team
Tuesday, January 17, 2012
Tennessee State University fans are encouraged to vote for three Big Blue legends that were nominated for the NAIA 75th Anniversary team.

Fans can cast their ballot by clicking here. The three nominees are all from Tennessee State A&I's (now TSU) three consecutive National Championships in 1957, 1958 and 1959. The Tigers were the first program at the collegiate level to capture three consecutive national titles.

Dr. Dick Barnett, TSU's all-time leading scorer with 3,209 points was nominated after earning NAIA Tournament MVP in 1958 and 1959. He helped the Tigers to three national titles and was chosen as a member of the NAIA 50th Anniversary team.

John Barnhill, also a three-time National Champion, was selected to the 1958 and 1959 All-Tournament teams and chosen as a member of the NAIA 50th Anniversary team. Barnhill completed his career with 1,253 points, which ranks 19th in school history.

Coach John McLendon is also on the nominee list. He was named the National Coach of the Year in 1958 and guided the Tigers to four tournament appearances and three tournament titles. Coach McLendon helped institute the fast break offense in collegiate basketball was named as a member of the NAIA 50th anniversary team.

Both Coach McLendon and Dr. Barnett are members of the College Basketball Hall of Fame.

Dr. Barnett is also on a quest to have Coach McLendon and the NAIA three-peat Champions inducted into the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame. Fans are encouraged to visit for more details.

The NAIA 75th Anniversary team will be announced later this year before the annual tournament.