caution (April 26, 2020) Tennessee State University is continuing to monitor the coronavirus (COVID-19), and is committed to using all resources to keep the TSU Family abreast of the latest information regarding academic delivery, campus operations and COVID-19. TSU students needing more information about online classes or campus operations should visit the Student Information section. Learn More Here.

Covington Garners HBCU All-American Accolades
Wednesday, April 4, 2012
Covington Garners HBCU All-American Accolades

Tennessee State University junior forward Robert Covington earned first team selection to the Boxtorow HBCU All-American men's basketball squad on Wednesday.

The Bellwood, Ill., product was a first team All-Ohio Valley Conference performer after averaging 17.8 points and 7.9 rebounds per game, while shooting 45 percent (65-of-145) from three-point range.

Covington also averaged 1.5 steals and 1.4 blocks per game.  He ranked in the top five in the OVC in scoring (3rd), rebounding (2nd), steals (5th), three-point percentage (3rd) and blocked shots (4th).  His points per game and 52.6 (212x403) field goal percentage ranked 44th and 45th, respectively, in the NCAA.

On Feb. 9, Covington led the way with 17 points and eight rebounds, including a three-pointer that gave the Tigers the lead for good as Tennessee defeated then undefeated and seventh-ranked Murray State 72-68.

He helped the Tigers to their first winning season since 1995-96 and the first 20-win campaign in 32 season. Covington also guided TSU to its' first postseason contest since 1995 when the Tigers lost to eventual CollegeInsider Tournament (CIT) Champion Mercer. Last month, Covington was named Co-MVP of the Ohio Valley Conference by

This is the fourth year of the All-American team. The voters are made up of media members from around the country who cover NCAA Division I basketball. 

2011-12 Division HBCU All-America Team

First Team
Robert Covington, Tennessee State (6-9, Jr., Bellwood, Ill.)
Paul Crosby, Mississippi Valley State (6-8, Sr., Lansing, Mich.)
*Tony Gallo, Coppin State (5-11, Sr., Lynn, Mass.)
Kyle O'Quinn, Norfolk State (6-10, Sr., Jamaica, N.Y.) 
Darrion Pellum, Hampton (6-6, Sr., Hampton, Va.)                            
*Jay Threatt, Delaware State (5-11, Sr., Richmond, Va.)

Second Team

Cor-J Cox, Mississippi Valley State (6-5, Sr., Washington, N.C.)   
Quinton Doggett, Southern (6-8, Sr., Richmond, Va.) 
Quincy Roberts, Grambling State (6-5, Jr., Harrisburg, Penn.)
Dominique Sutton, North Carolina Central (6-5, Sr., Durham, N.C.)
Savalace Towsend, Arkansas-Pine Bluff (6-1, Sr., Long Beach, Miss.)

Player of the Year: 
Kyle O'Quinn
Coach of the Year: Anthony Evans, Norfolk State
*Indicates tie