TSU Football Develops Leadership Council
Thursday, October 8, 2020
TSU Football Develops Leadership Council

The Tennessee State football team created a Leadership Council for the 2020-21 season. The council was put in place to help communicate concerns during the unique time during the COVID-19 pandemic.

The council was selected by members of the team and will hold the position through graduation. Head coach Rod Reed is excited about the council as it helps the coaching staff stay in tune with the pulse of the team. As well as having the opportunity to use the group of 12 players to help pass on many of the items and philosophies the program is trying to accomplish.

“The guys started talking and asking questions a little while back,” said Reed. “We decided to start a group for the players to express any kind of concerns. And we felt it was another way to cultivate leadership and pass on expectations for on and off the field, as well as for life. This gives them the opportunity to take ownership.”

The Big Blue will look to continue the program in the following years and will vote every fall camp for any replacements needed for graduating players.

The 2020-21 TSU Football Leadership Council
Phillip Brown, GR, TE
Jahsun Bryant – Jr., LB
Da’Shon Davis – So., WR
Clint Dowty – So., DE
Cam Durley – R-Sr., OL
James Green – R-Jr., LB
Josh Green – R-So., S
Raymond Horton - Jr., DL/OL
David Johnson – Jr., QB
Dayron Johnson – So., WR
Josh Trueheart – R-Jr., TE
Heath Williams – R-Fr., QB