caution (April 26, 2020) Tennessee State University is continuing to monitor the coronavirus (COVID-19), and is committed to using all resources to keep the TSU Family abreast of the latest information regarding academic delivery, campus operations and COVID-19. TSU students needing more information about online classes or campus operations should visit the Student Information section. Learn More Here.

Rowland Named One of Four Finalists for Black College Football Player of the Year
Friday, December 6, 2019
Rowland Named One of Four Finalists for Black College Football Player of the Year

ATLANTA --- Tennessee State wide receiver and return specialist has been named one of four finalists for the Black College Football Player of the Year Award as announced by the Black College Football Hall of Fame (BCFHOF). The Award is presented annually to the most outstanding football player from a Historically Black College & University (HBCU) that embodies the rich tradition of athletic excellence and integrity associated with HBCUs.

Rowland is fresh off earning the Ohio Valley Conference Offensive Player of the Year. The senior was also selected to the All OVC First Team as both a wide receiver and a return specialist. As a receiver, Rowland leads the nation in receiving yards (1,437) and third in receptions per game (8.7). The Nolensville, Tenn. product is second in the country in all purpose yards (175.83) and is the only player in all of Division I to score a touchdown via kick return, punt return, rushing and receiving.

Rowland, who was selected to play in the NFLPA Collegiate Bowl, along with quarterback Felix Harper (Alcorn State), running back Jah-Maine Martin (North Carolina A&T) and quarterback Ryan Stanley (Florida A&M) are the four finalists. Former North Carolina A&T State University and current Chicago Bears Running Back Tarik Cohen was the inaugural recipient of the Award in 2016, while former Bowie State quarterback Amir Hall was selected as the recipient in 2017 and 2018.

The Finalists were chosen by a five-member Selection Committee, which is composed of Black College Football Hall of Fame founders James “Shack” Harris and Doug Williams, longtime SBN Broadcaster and Director of News and Sports for the Power News Radio Network Ty Miller, former USA Today sports writer Roscoe Nance, and ESPN College Football Analyst Jay Walker.

The winner of the 2019 Black College Football Player of the Year Award will be announced on February 22, 2020 at the 11th Annual Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, Presented by the Atlanta Falcons in Atlanta, Ga. The honoree will be presented with the Deacon Jones Trophy, named in honor of the football legend and inaugural BCFHOF inductee.

The Finalists will also be recognized at the Celebration Bowl in Atlanta on December 21st, along with the BCFHOF Class of 2020, which will be televised on ABC.