Smith, Ogundeko Named adidas OVC Players of the Week
Sunday, November 8, 2015
Smith, Ogundeko Named adidas OVC Players of the Week

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Patrick Smith and Ebenezer Ogundeko have been honored by the Ohio Valley Conference as Player of the Week selections. Smith earned the Offensive and Newcomer awards to join Ogundeko who was named the Defensive for their performance in the 46-43 overtime loss to Murray State on Saturday.

Smith registered a career day with nine catches for 248 yards and two touchdowns. The redshirt-sophomore caught scoring passes from O’Shay Ackerman-Carter of 70 and 81 yards giving him six plays of over 50 yards this season. The longer of the two is the second longest this season for the Memphis, Tenn. native, behind an 84-yard touchdown at Jacksonville State. The two 80-yarders are the two longest passing plays in the OVC this year.

The 248 yards is one shy of the TSU single game record set by Tyrone Butterfield in 1998 and is the second highest receiving total in the conference in 2015 and is ranked third in the nation. The nine receptions tied his previous best he recorded at Eastern Kentucky at Eastern Kentucky on Oct. 24.

Ogundeko logged the most sacks in a game for a player in the OVC this season and sixth in the country with three against Murray State. The sophomore-transfer recorded 10 tackles, seven solos, and 3.5 tackles-for-loss totaling 24 yards.

The Brooklyn, N.Y. product forced a fumble in TSU territory as Murray State was driving, allowing Blair Edwards to recover, which led to an offensive touchdown to regain the lead in the third quarter. The defensive ends performance helped the Tiger defense to eight sacks on the day, tying for the top performance in the OVC this season and tied for fifth in the country.

This is the first OVC selection since Ackerman-Carter was named Newcomer of the Week on Sept. 7 for his play against Alabama State in the John Merritt Classic. It is also the first time a Tiger won the Offensive and Defensive award since Mike German and Gabe Terry earned the awards on Nov. 23, 2014. They earned their honors for their play at Murray State.