Tigers Picked Fifth at OVC Media Day
Monday, July 20, 2015
Tigers Picked Fifth at OVC Media Day

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - The Tennessee State football team was picked to finish fifth at the Ohio Valley Conference Media Day, Monday.

The Tigers received 66 total points, behind Jacksonville State (128), Eastern Illinois (107), Eastern Kentucky (106) and UT Martin (78). TSU is picked to finish ahead of Southeast Missouri (63), Tennessee Tech (45), Murray State (38) and Austin Peay (17).

Tennessee State completed its third consecutive non-losing campaign under Rod Reed. Now in his sixth season as head coach, Reed returns 58 players from last year's team including five offensive and three defensive starters. The Tigers will need to replace six members of a defense that ranked 11th nationally in total defense (306.5 yards/game).

Senior defensive end Gabe Terry was the lone Tiger to be named to the preseason All-OVC team. Terry registered 11.5 sacks and forced two fumbles as a junior. The Palm Beach, Fla. native earned Second Team All-OVC honors for his efforts.

Offensively, junior Ronald Butler and red-shirt freshman O’Shay Ackerman-Carter will look to handle the offense behind center. Butler was named Second Team All-OVC as a freshman and looks to repeat his success, while Ackerman-Carter hopes to see time after an impressive spring season.

The Tigers will report for fall camp on Aug. 7 in preparation of the John Merritt Classic on Sept. 6.

2015 OVC Preseason Football Predicted Order of Finish

  1. Jacksonville State (16 first-place votes) – 128
  2. Eastern Illinois – 107
  3. Eastern Kentucky (2) – 106
  4. UT Martin – 78
  5. Tennessee State – 66
  6. Southeast Missouri – 63
  7. Tennessee Tech – 45
  8. Murray State – 38
  9. Austin Peay – 17

Note: 8 points awarded for a first-place vote, 7 for second, etc. - Coaches and SID’s could not vote for their own teams


2015 Preseason All-OVC Team
Preseason Offensive Player of the Year: Dy’Shawn Mobley (RB), Eastern Kentucky
Preseason Defensive Player of the Year: Devaunte Sigler (DL), Jacksonville State

QB - Eli Jenkins, Jacksonville State
RB - Dy’Shawn Mobley, Eastern Kentucky
RB - DeMichael Jackson, Southeast Missouri
WR - Paul McRoberts, Southeast Missouri
WR - Josh Barge, Jacksonville State
WR - Janawski Davis, Murray State
TE - Bo Brummel, Jacksonville State
C - Casey Dunn, Jacksonville State
OG - Adam Wright, Jacksonville State
OG - Trey Shelton, Eastern Kentucky
OT - Brett Eyckmans, Eastern Kentucky
OT - Justin Lea, Jacksonville State
OT - Evan Kanz, Eastern Illinois

DL - Devaunte Sigler, Jacksonville State
DL - LaMichael Fanning, Jacksonville State
DL - Dino Fanti, Eastern Illinois
DL - Chris Landrum, Jacksonville State
DL - Gabe Terry, Tennessee State
LB - Kamu Grugier-Hill, Eastern Illinois
LB - Jonathan Jackson, Murray State
LB - Roper Garrett, Southeast Missouri
LB - Tra’Darius Goff, Tennessee Tech
DB - Jourdan Wickliffe, Eastern Illinois
DB - Jermaine Hough, Jacksonville State
DB - Stanley Absanon, Eastern Kentucky
DB - DeBarriaus Miller, Jacksonville State 

K - Ryan McCrum, Southeast Missouri
P - Hamish MacInnes, Jacksonville State
RS - Pokey Harris, Murray State