caution (April 26, 2020) Tennessee State University is continuing to monitor the coronavirus (COVID-19), and is committed to using all resources to keep the TSU Family abreast of the latest information regarding academic delivery, campus operations and COVID-19. TSU students needing more information about online classes or campus operations should visit the Student Information section. Learn More Here.

Fitzpatrick Wins CFPA Defensive Back of the Year
Thursday, January 9, 2014
Fitzpatrick Wins CFPA Defensive Back of the Year

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Tennessee State football player Daniel Fitzpatrick was named Defensive Back of the Year by the College Football Performance Awards (CFPA), on Thursday.

 The honor is one of many for Fitzpatrick who ranked first nationally in total interceptions with eight. The Fort Wayne, Ind. native also returned three of those interceptions for touchdowns, including a 50-yarder against Jackson State, a 20-yarder against UT Martin and a 26-yarder at Butler.

Fitzpatrick anchored a secondary that ranked third nationally in total passes intercepted (21) and a defense that was sixth nationally in total defense (296.9 yards/game) and seventh in scoring defense (18.1 points/game).

The strong safety finished the year with 75 tackles (52 solo), 5.5 TFL and eight pass breakups, leading TSU to a playoff victory for the first time since 1986.

About College Football Performance Awards:

The goal of College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. Twenty-one CFPA winners have been first-round NFL Draft selections.

2013 CFPA FCS Awards:

National Performer of the Year -- Vernon Adams, Eastern Washington
National Defensive Performer of the Year -- Lynden Trail, Norfolk State
National Freshman Performer of the Year -- Drew Reed, Lafayette
All-Purpose Performer of the Year -- Diontae Spencer, McNeese State
Quarterback Award -- Jimmy Garoppolo, Eastern Illinois
Running Back Award -- Terrance West, Towson
Wide Receiver Award -- Cooper Kupp, Eastern Washington
Tight End Award -- MyCole Pruitt, Southern Illinois
Defensive End Award -- Shaquille Riddick, Gardner-Webb & Zach Hodges, Harvard
Defensive Tackle Award -- Sullivan Grosz, Cal Poly
Linebacker Award -- Kevin Kintzel, Western Illinois & Stephon Robertson, James Madison
Defensive Back Award -- Daniel Fitzpatrick, Tennessee State
Placekicker Award -- Seth Sebastian, Southeastern Louisiana
Punter Award -- Kyle Loomis, Portland State
Kickoff Returner Award -- Xavier Roberson, Southeastern Louisiana
Punt Returner Award -- Kevin Johnson, Lamar
Elite Placekicker Award -- Tyler Sievertsen, Northern Iowa
Elite All-Purpose Award -- Kyle Harbridge, Saint Francis U
Elite Defensive End Award -- Davis Tull, Chattanooga
Elite Running Back Award -- Zach Zenner, South Dakota State
Elite Wide Receiver Award -- Erik Lora, Eastern Illinois
Elite Linebacker Award -- Jordan Tripp, Montana
Elite Kickoff Returner Award -- Adrian Wilkins, North Carolina Central
Elite Tight End Award -- Justin Perillo, Maine
Elite Defensive Performer Award -- Tyler Starr, South Dakota