caution (April 26, 2020) Tennessee State University is continuing to monitor the coronavirus (COVID-19), and is committed to using all resources to keep the TSU Family abreast of the latest information regarding academic delivery, campus operations and COVID-19. TSU students needing more information about online classes or campus operations should visit the Student Information section. Learn More Here.

Godbolt Named to Buck Buchanan Award Watch List
Thursday, July 11, 2013
Godbolt Named to Buck Buchanan Award Watch List

Nashville, Tenn. - Tennessee State junior cornerback Steven Godbolt III is one of 20 players named to the initial Buck Buchanan Award Watch List as announced by the Sports Network on Thursday.

The Buchanan Award, established in 1995, is presented annually to the top defensive player in the Football Championship Subdivision (FCS).

The Buchanan Award Watch List will undergo a revision during the 2013 season. Ballots will be sent to a panel of about 175 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other officials following the regular season. The winner will be invited to The Sports Network FCS Awards Presentation on Dec. 16.

Godbolt picked off six passes in 10 games last season to finish first nationally in interceptions per game. He had two separate streaks during the 2012 season of three consecutive games with an interception. He also added 45 tackles (37 solo), six pass breakups and two forced fumbles for a Big Blue team that finished with an 8-3 record.

2013 Buck Buchanan Award Watch List
Dorian Bell (LB), Duquesne
Clarence Bumpus (LB), Northern Colorado
Qua Cox (CB), Jackson State
Wes Dothard (LB), Chattanooga
Steven Godbolt III (CB), Tennessee State
Ronnie Hamlin (LB), Eastern Washington
Antoine Lewis (DT), Villanova
Jestin Love (S), Central Arkansas
Grant Olson (LB), North Dakota State
Caraun Reid (DT), Princeton
Stephon Robertson (LB), James Madison
Caleb Schaffitzel (S), Missouri State
Alvin Scioneaux (LB), Wofford)
Robert Simpson (DT), Mississippi Valley State
Tyler Starr (LB), South Dakota
Jaquiski Tartt (S), Samford
Jordan Tripp (LB), Montana
Davis Tull (DE), Chattanooga
Colton Underwood (DE), Illinois State
Marcus Williams (CB), North Dakota State