caution (April 26, 2020) Tennessee State University is continuing to monitor the coronavirus (COVID-19), and is committed to using all resources to keep the TSU Family abreast of the latest information regarding academic delivery, campus operations and COVID-19. TSU students needing more information about online classes or campus operations should visit the Student Information section. Learn More Here.

Football Has Five Named to BSN All-American Teams
Saturday, December 14, 2013
Football Has Five Named to BSN All-American Teams

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Five members of the Tennessee State football team were selected to the Beyond Sports Network (BSN) All-American Teams following one of the most successful years in school history.

Offensive guard Kadeem Edwards, defensive end Anthony Bass and safety Daniel Fitzpatrick made the First Team; tight end A.C. Leonard was named to the Second Team and Nick Thrasher was placed on the Third Team.

Edwards was selected to the All-Ohio Valley Conference Team for the third consecutive time following a season in which he started 13 games at left guard. The four-year starter accepted an invitation to the 2014 Reese’s Senior Bowl earlier this week.

Bass was named OVC Defensive Player of the Year after recording 10 sacks, 34 stops and 14.5 tackles for loss. The junior also forced and recovered a pair of fumbles on the campaign.

Fitzpatrick was second on the team in tackles with 75 and led the Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) with eight interceptions on the year. The Fort Wayne, Ind. native broke up eight passes in 14 games.

TSU’s pair of defensive players selected to the First Team were the most for any one team in the nation.

Leonard finished second on the Tigers with 34 receptions and 441 yards for an average of 13 yards per catch. The junior also added five touchdowns, placing him third on the squad.

Thrasher placed first on TSU with 110 stops on the season and added 12 tackles for loss. His 110 wrap-ups were the most for any Tiger since 2002.

The 2013 BSN All America Team was chosen by college sports information directors, college coaches, media, and BSN Staff. Each college was given the opportunity to submit votes by their sports information director and one football coach.