Godbolt and Leonard Named to CFPA Watch Lists
Monday, June 17, 2013
Godbolt and Leonard Named to CFPA Watch Lists

NASHVILLE, Tenn. - College Football Performance Awards, the largest awards organization in D-I college football, recently announced its watch lists for the 2013 CFPA Defensive Back and Tight End Awards, and Steven Godbolt III  and A.C. Leonard both earned a spot on the respective lists.

"Congratulations to Steven Godbolt III and A.C. Leonard on earning spots on the 2013 CFPA Watch List," said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "After productive seasons in 2012, both will be top players to watch in 2013."

Godbolt should be under the microscope be every major media outlet this season after a sophomore campaign in which he led all of Division I FCS with six interceptions.

For Leonard, his inclusion on the watch list was a foregone conclusion as the junior earned the 2012 CFPA Tight End Award with 733 receiving yards and a team-high six touchdown receptions.

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections. CFPA recipients performing as NFL defensive backs include: Earl Thomas (Texas), Patrick Peterson (LSU), Mark Barron (Alabama), David Amerson (North Carolina State), Jayron Hosley (Virginia Tech), Phillip Thomas (Fresno State), Tyrann Mathieu (LSU), Cliff Harris (Oregon), Javier Arenas (Alabama), Trumaine Johnson (Montana), Asa Jackson (Cal Poly), Laron Scott (Georgia Southern), Anthony Walters (Delaware), DeAndre Presley (Appalachian State), Justin Bethel (Presbyterian), Korey Lindsey (Southern Illinois), Mark LeGree, (Appalachian State), and Ryan Steed (Furman).

Last season, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel earned the 2012 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, while Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple earned the 2012 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. Multiple award presentations were broadcast live nationally on ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports, Big Ten Network, Pac 12 Network, as well as internationally on BYUtv.

The full list of 2013 recipients, including the 2013 CFPA FCS Awards, will be announced on January 8, 2014.

--TSU Tigers--