Leonard And Godbolt Named To College Sporting News Fabulous Fifty
Tuesday, January 22, 2013
Leonard And Godbolt Named To College Sporting News Fabulous Fifty

CHICAGO, ILL. - Tennessee State tight end A.C. Leonard and defensive back Steven Godbolt III have been named to the College Sporting News 2012 Fabulous Fifty FCS All-America Team comprised of the best 50 student-athletes in the NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision.

Five players won annual player of the year awards along with the head coach of the year award. Two coaches and an additional 11 players received enough votes to be named honorable mention.

Leonard earned his fifth All-American honor of the season as he was previously a first-team selection by the Sports Network and Walter Camp and a second-team pick by the Associated Press and Phil Steele. Leonard, in his first season with Tennessee State after transferring from Florida, caught 51 passes for 733 yards and six touchdowns in 10 games. The 733 yards were the most by a tight end at the FCS level this year and was the fourth most throughout all four divisions of college football (FBS, FCS, D-II and D-III).

Godbolt earned his fourth All-American honor of the year after being a second-team Sports Network and Phil Steele All-American and third-team AP All-American earlier this off-season. He picked off six passes in 10 games to finish first nationally in interceptions per game (0.60). He had two separate streaks during the 2012 season of three consecutive games with an interception.

Including the honorable mention selections there were three coaches, 61 players, from 43 teams and 12 conferences. Eastern Washington lead the way with five honorees and 15 other teams, including TSU, had multiple selections. The Big Sky Conference surpassed all other leagues with 14 selections while the Ohio Valley Conference had five selections.


Coach of the Year: Walt Hameline, Wagner

Offensive Player of the Year: Taylor Heinicke, Old Dominion

Defensive Player of the Year: Marcus Williams, North Dakota State

Offensive Lineman Of The Year: Corey Howard, Central Arkansas 

Special Teams Player Of The Year: Austin Shanks, Northern Arizona

Freshmen Of The Year: Vernon Adams, QB, Eastern Washington

Playoff MVP: Brock Jensen, QB, North Dakota State



QB Taylor Heinicke, Old Dominion, So.

QB Jerick McKinnon, Georgia Southern, Jr.

RB Miguel Maysonet, Stony Brook, Sr.

RB Deonte Williams, Cal Poly, Sr.

RB Jordan McCord, Colgate, Sr.

RB Zach Zenner, South Dakota State, So.

FB Eric Breitenstein, Wofford, Sr.

AP Walter Powell, Murray State, Jr.

C Corey Howard, Central Arkansas, Sr.

OG Earl Watford, James Madison, Sr.

OG Sean Davies, UC Davis, Sr.

OT Will Post, Eastern Washington, Sr.

OT Bill Turner, North Dakota State, Jr.

OL Kaleb Hopson, Sam Houston State, Sr.

OL Mike Sellers, The Citadel, Jr.

TE Kyle Juszcyk, Harvard, Sr.

TE A.C. Leonard, Tennessee State, So.

WR Brandon Kaufman, Eastern Washington, Jr.

WR Aaron Mellette, Elon, Sr.

WR Erik Lora, Eastern Illinois, Jr.

WR Cordell Roberson, Stephen F. Austin, Sr.

WR Quentin Sims, Tennessee-Martin, Sr.

WR Jordan Harris, Bryant, Jr.



DT Cody Larsen, Southern Utah, Sr.

DT Brent Russell, Georgia Southern, Sr.

DE Brandon Thurmond, Arkansas-Pine Bluff, Sr.

DE Caleb Schreibeis, Montana State, Sr.

DL Davis Tull, Tennessee-Chattanooga, So.

DL Zach Wagenmann, Montana, So.

DL Mike Catapano, Princeton, Sr.

DL Colton Underwood, Illinois State, Jr.

LB Robert McCabe, Georgetown, Sr.

LB Grant Olson, North Dakota State, Jr. 

LB Jeremy Kimbrough, Appalachian State, Sr.

LB Jody Owens, Montana State, Sr.

LB Keith Pough, Howard, Sr.

LB Matt Evans, New Hampshire, Sr.

DB Marcus Williams, North Dakota State, Jr.

DB Steven Godbolt III, Tennessee State, So.

DB Darnell Taylor, Sam Houston State, Sr.

DB Ben Ericksen, Illinois State, Sr.

DB T.J. Lee III, Eastern Washington, Jr.

DB Kejuan Riley, Alabama State, Sr.



K Jimmy Pavel, Eastern Washington, Sr.

P Patrick Murray, Fordham, Sr.

KR Jerodis Williams, Furman, Sr.

PR Austin Shanks, Northern Arizona, Sr.

LS Rick Lovato, Old Dominion, So.



Coach of the Year: Dino Babers, Eastern Illinois

Coach of the Year: Kevin Higgins, The Citadel

Offensive Player of the Year: Eric Breitenstein, Wofford

Freshmen Of The Year: Sean Price, Appalachian State

Freshmen Of The Year: Zak Browning, Southern Utah

QB Michael Colvin, Lehigh, Sr.

RB Shakir Bell, Indiana State, Jr.

OL Terren Jones, Alabama State, Sr.

TE Justin Perillo, Maine, Jr.

TE Colin Anderson, Furman, Sr.

DE Davis Tull, Tennessee-Chattanooga, So.

DB Robert Alford, Southeastern Louisiana, Sr.

DB Jaquiski Tartt, Samford, So.

P Andy Wilder, Northern Arizona, Jr.

Follow TSU Athletics on Facebook.com/TSUTigers, Twitter @TSU_Tigers and YouTube