Godfrey Becomes Third Tiger on CFPA Watch List
Monday, June 24, 2013
Godfrey Becomes Third Tiger on CFPA Watch List

CHARLOTTE, N.C. - College Football Performance Awards, the largest awards organization in D-I college football, recently announced its watch list for the 2013 CFPA Placekicker Award, and Tennessee State senior Jamin Godfrey earned a spot on the list.

The preliminary watch list highlights 32 returning performers, vying for the top individual placekicker award in the Football Championship Subdivision.

Godfrey joins TSU defensive back Steven Godbolt III and tight end A.C. Leonard on the 2013 CFPA Watch List.

"Congratulations to Jamin Godfrey on earning a spot on the 2013 CFPA Watch List," said CFPA Executive Director Brad Smith. "Godfrey has produced some of the nation's top individual placekicking performances. As a senior, he will be one of the nation's top placekickers to watch."

Godfrey is no stranger to CFPA awards as he won the publication’s National Placekicker of the Week honors in 2012 after converting 5-of-5 field goals in a 22-21 win over Tennessee Tech.

Last season he was second on the team with 81 points and made 16-of-20 attempted field goals. His season long field goal was 46 yards versus Arkansas-Pine Bluff on Homecoming.

All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

More than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts, and twenty-one have been first-round NFL Draft selections. CFPA recipients performing as NFL placekickers include: Alex Henery (Nebraska), Blair Walsh (Georgia), Caleb Sturgis (Florida), Randy Bullock (Texas A&M), Dustin Hopkins (Florida State), David Buehler (USC), Brandon McManus (Temple), Quinn Sharp (Oklahoma State), Zach Brown (Portland State), and Adi Kunalic (Nebraska).

Last season, Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel earned the 2012 CFPA National Performer of the Year Trophy, while Harvard quarterback Colton Chapple earned the 2012 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy. Multiple award presentations were broadcast live nationally on ESPN, CBS, Fox Sports, Big Ten Network, Pac 12 Network, as well as internationally on BYUtv.

The full list of 2013 recipients, including the 2013 CFPA FCS Awards, will be announced on January 8, 2014.