Amber Hughes Nominated for NCAA Woman of the Year
Tuesday, June 27, 2017
Amber Hughes Nominated for NCAA Woman of the Year

NASHVILLE --- Recent Tennessee State graduate Amber Hughes (Atlanta, Ga.), who starred for the women’s track and field team, is a nominee for the NCAA Woman of the Year award, it was announced on Tuesday.

The NCAA Woman of the Year award honors graduating female student-athletes who have distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in the areas of academic achievement, athletics excellence, service and leadership. Hughes is one of two student-athletes from the Ohio Valley Conference to receive a nomination. Schools recommended student-athletes to the conference office, which could nominate up to two candidates. 

In the classroom, Hughes graduated with a 3.731 cumulative grade point average. She earned her bachelor’s degree in communications in the spring of 2017.

A five-time All-American for the Tigerbelles, Hughes won 26 OVC gold medals in her career. Excelling in the triple jump, she qualified for the 2016 U.S. Olympic Trials and the 2017 USATF Championships. Hughes earned First Team All-America at the NCAA Outdoor Championships and Second Team All-America at the NCAA Indoor Championships for the triple jump as a senior.

Away from her responsibilities as a student-athlete, she is active in the community through Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Champions for America’s Future, as well as through Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

- Amber Hughes, a 2017 TSU graduate, is one of two Ohio Valley Conference nominations for NCAA Woman of the Year.
- The four pillars of the Woman of the Year award are academics, athletics, service and leadership.
- The track and field star is one of 544 nominees from around the nation, including 229 from the Division I level. 
- The Woman of the Year Selection Committee will name the top 10 honorees from each of the NCAA’s three divisions.
- Of the top 30, the selection committee will determine the top three in each division.
- The winner will be announced by the Committee on Women's Athletics on Oct. 22 in Indianapolis at a ceremony.