TSU hosts 2011 OVC Women's Golf Championship
Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Nashville, Tenn. --- The Tennessee State University women's golf team will serve as host to the 2011 Ohio Valley Conference Women's Golf Championship from April 21-23 at the GreyStone Golf Club in Dickson, Tenn.

The 54-hole, three day tournament will consist of three rounds with round one set to begin on April 21st. The third and final round is slated for Saturday (4/23) and will close with the team trophy presentation.

Designed by PGA Tour pro Mark McCumber, GreyStone is a public course that has hosted numerous high profile events. It has served as home of the 2002 PGA Tour First Round Qualifying, Men's and Women's Tennessee State Opens 1999 through 2003, the 2000 PGA Tour First Round Qualifying and the Monday Qualifying for the BellSouth Senior PGA Tour event.

This marks the second year in a row that GreyStone, a par-72, 6,049-yard layout, has hosted the OVC Women's Championship.

Sharing the field with Tennessee State will include: Austin Peay, Eastern Illinois, Eastern Kentucky, Jacksonville State, Morehead State, Murray State, and Tennessee Tech.

Murray State claimed the team title last year with a 747, winning by five shots ahead of second-place finisher Jacksonville State. It was the Racers second consecutive team title and eighth overall.

Austin Peay State's Chelsea Harris won the individual title last year carding a 180 with a five-shot lead over a pair of challengers making it the largest margin of victory since 2007.

TSU will look to improve from their eighth place finish at last year's championship. The team is coming off an idle week after a tough showing at the Eastern Kentucky Classic. Due to a couple of untimely injuries, two golfers had to withdraw and thus TSU was not able to finish.

Jamie Pierce, on the season, powers the Tigers, finishing in the top 20 on five occasions in eight tournaments played this year. She has finished in the top ten five times which includes two finishes in the top five. Pierce posted the best performance for TSU finishing 35th overall in last year's championship, and she currently holds a team best 82.2 stroke average.

Marie Black is second on the team with an 89.2 stroke average while registering two finishes in the top 20 and one in the top ten this season. Black finished 38th in last year's conference championship

Laura Brown follows with a stroke average of 90.0 finishing in the top 20 once in four events played.

Bria Norris (93.5), Mya Billingsley (98.2), Jatoia Potts (115.5), and Shatara Williams (134.3) round out the team averages with the Tigers currently shooting a combined 383.2 team average.

Practice round will begin on Wednesday before the opening round starts on Thursday at 8:00 a.m.

The annual awards banquets will be held following Thursday's first-round play honoring the All-OVC first-team and second-team members as well as All-Newcomer Team and Freshman of the Year.

The champion of the tournament will represent the OVC in NCAA Regional Play.

Hole-by-hole live results from each day of the championship can be accessed through links at OVCSports.com.