2017-18 OVC Predicted Order of Finish Released
Tuesday, October 24, 2017
2017-18 OVC Predicted Order of Finish Released


Evansville, Ind. --- In a poll voted on by the league head coaches and sports information directors, the Tennessee State University women’s basketball team was predicted to finish the 2017-18 Ohio Valley Conference race in 12th place .

The order of finish was released Monday morning during OVC Basketball Media Day.

This season, Tennessee State will be under the leadership of first year head coach Jessica Kern. The Lady Tigers have six returners from last year’s squad and ten newcomers, including eight freshmen and two transfers that will sit out this year.

“I am excited the building of our program isn’t going unnoticed," commented head coach Jessica Kern. "I am not surprised with our preseason ranking. It is difficult to rank what you don’t know. However, with our continued progress I am sure the best is yet to come. Keep an eye out for TSU Women’s Basketball - a championship pedigree is our expectation!” 

TSU will get its final tune-up of the season on Nov. 3 with an exhibition contest versus Kentucky State before officially opening up the season at Memphis on Nov. 10.

2017-18 OVC Women’s Basketball Predicted Order of Finish

1 - Belmont (22)                       
2 - SIUE                                     
3 - UT Martin (2)                      
4 - Morehead State                 
5 - Tennessee Tech                
6 - Austin Peay                       
7 - Jacksonville State             
T8- Murray State                       
T8 - Southeast Missouri            
10 - Eastern Kentucky             
11 - Eastern Illinois                   
12 - Tennessee State                 

2017-18 Women’s Basketball Preseason All-OVC Team

Ke’Shunan James (F/G, Sr.), Murray State
Darby Maggard (G, Jr.), Belmont
Kylee Smith (F, Sr.),  Belmont
Grace Lennox (G, Sr.), Eastern Illinois
Yaktavia Hickson (G, Sr.), Tennessee Tech
Sally McCabe (C, Sr.), Belmont
Donshel Beck (G, Sr.), SIUE
Miranda Crockett (G, Jr.), Morehead State
Ashton Feldhaus (F, Sr.), UT Martin
Kendall Spray (G, So.), UT Martin
Myah Taylor (G, Jr.), UT Martin

2017-18 Preseason Co-Player of the Year: Darby Maggard, Belmont’; Sally McCabe, Belmont