TSU Great Connie Swift to be Honored by OVC
Tuesday, February 16, 2016
TSU Great Connie Swift to be Honored by OVC

For the second year in a row the Ohio Valley Conference will recognize men's and women's basketball legends from each of its member institutions during the OVC Basketball Tournament.

This year, Tennessee State’s honoree will be women’s basketball legend Connie Swift.

As a member of the Lady Tiger Basketball program, Swift was a force to be reckoned with on both the defensive and offensive ends.  As a freshman she led the team in scoring with an average of 19.5 points per game while posting a total of 527 points. As a junior she passed her personal season high with 550 points while averaging 20.4 points per contest.

Throughout her career, she led the team in rebounds each year with a total of 885, averaging 9.3 her senior year. Swift led the team in steals averaging 2.9 per game during her senior campaign. Each year she competed, she led TSU in field goal percentages making 726 field goals out of 1,283 attempts.

Swift was named the OVC All-Freshman Team, twice to the OVC First and Second Team and is also a two-time OVC Tournament MVP.  She led the Lady Tigers to two OVC Tournament Championships and two NCAA tournament appearances (1994 & 1995).

Connie Swift is TSU's All-Time Career Leading Scorer with 2,054 points.  Her senior year she added a 30-point game to her accomplishments against Central Michigan University. Swift is also a member of the 40- point club for dropping 40 against Tennessee Temple in the 1996-97 season.

In 2010, she was inducted into the TSU Sports Hall of Fame. 

The legends will be recognized through signage, P.A. announcements and a game program feature story during the event.

With roots dating back to 1948, the OVC and its member institutions have produced many outstanding student-athletes who have earned numerous accolades and led their respective schools to success on the hardwood.

A year ago each OVC member institution identified both a male and female legend to be honored through signage and announcements at the 2015 and 2016 Championships. Last year the league selected six male student-athletes and six female student-athletes and this year the next group of 12 total legends will be honored.

Below is a listing of this year's honorees. For more information on each click here: OVC Basketball Legends Website

Austin Peay: Brooke Armistead
Belmont: Joe Behling
Eastern Illinois: Ta'Kenya Nixon
Eastern Kentucky: Jim Baechtold
Jacksonville State: Walker Russell
Morehead State: Chynna Bozeman
Murray State: Ashley Nichole Hayes
Southeast Missouri: William "Bud" Eley
SIUE: Misi Clark
Tennessee State: Connie Swift
Tennessee Tech: Stephen Kite
UT Martin: Lester Hudson