Lady Tigers Named Female Team of the Year by HBCU Digest
Friday, July 17, 2015
Lady Tigers Named Female Team of the Year by HBCU Digest

The Tennessee State University women’s basketball team was named the Female Team of the Year at this year's annual AARP HBCU Awards. 

The 2014-15 season was a historic run for the Lady Tigers. TSU upset four-time defending champion UT Martin to claim the Ohio Valley Conference Tournament Championship on May 7. With the victory, the Lady Tigers claimed the OVC crown and earned an NCAA Tournament berth for the first time in 20 years.

After closing out the regular season on a seven-game winning streak and going undefeated in the OVC Tournament, TSU broke a program record by winning 10 consecutive games.

The OVC champions finished the season with an overall record of 18-13 (12-4 OVC), the program’s first winning record since 2008-09.

On Wednesday, April 8, the Lady Tigers were honored at the Tennessee State Capitol with a resolution from the District 58 House of Representatives.

A full list of HBCU Digest winners:

Best Marching Band
Alabama State University

Best Choir
Morgan State University

Best Student Government Association
Philander Smith College

Best Student Organization
Nashville Student Organizing Committee

Best Student Newspaper
Morehouse Maroon Tiger

Best Alumni Publication

Best Research Center
H.U. Minority Men’s Health Initiative

Best Fine Arts Program
VSU Dept of Art & Design

Best Business Program
Edward Waters Dept. of Business

Best STEM Program
NCA&T Dept of Electrical, Comp Engineering

Best Nursing Program
Southern University

Best School of Social Work
AAMU Dept of Social Work

Male Faculty Member of the Year
Brian Seymour

Female Faculty Member of the Year
Amber Johnson

Male Coach of the Year
Ed Joyner

Female Coach of the Year
Darlene Moore

Male Athlete of the Year
John Gibbs

Female Athlete of the Year
Nour Abbes

Men’s Team of the Year
Alcorn State Football

Female Team of the Year
Tenn. State Women’s Basketball

National Alumni Association of the Year
Claflin University

Alumnus of the Year
Michael Jones

Alumna of the Year
Cecka Rose Green

Male Student of the Year
Jared Loggins

Female Student of the Year
Danyelle Carter

Male President of the Year
Wayne Frederick

Female President of the Year
Elmira Mangum

HBCU of the Year
Claflin University