Women's Basketball to Face Indiana in WNIT
Tuesday, June 16, 2015
Women's Basketball to Face Indiana in WNIT

WNIT Bracket | Consolation Bracket

Nashville, Tenn. --- The Tennessee State University women’s basketball team will face Indiana in the first round of the WNIT to kick-off the 2014-15 season.

Game times and matchups for the 2015 Preseason WNIT were announced Tuesday, with all eight first-round games slated for Nov. 13.

Round 2 of the 16-team event will take place Nov. 15-17; the semifinals are Nov. 19, and the Preseason WNIT Championship will be played at 3 p.m. ET, Nov. 22, with the contest being televised by CBS Sports Network.

On one side of the bracket, in order, the Nov. 13 games are:

UT Arlington at Baylor, 6 p.m. CT
Alabama State at Southern Miss,  11 a.m. CT
Jacksonville at South Florida, 6 p.m. ET
Dartmouth at Drexel, 7 p.m. ET

The other half of the bracket, in order, has these matchups for Nov. 13:

Southern Illinois at DePaul, 7 p.m. CT
Siena at St. Bonaventure,  5:30 p.m. ET
Tennessee State at Indiana, Noon ET
McNeese State at Chattanooga, 6:30 p.m. ET

All game times are local to host site.

Ten of the 16 teams advanced to postseason play in 2015; this is the Preseason WNIT debut for Alabama State, Jacksonville, Southern Miss, St. Bonaventure, Tennessee State and UT Arlington.

Teams making their first return to the event are Dartmouth (2006), DePaul (2010), Siena (2002), South Florida (2004) and Southern Illinois (1997). Others with multiple appearances are Drexel (2011, 2005), Indiana (2008, 1998), McNeese State (2011, 2004), Baylor (2011, 2006, 1998) and Chattanooga (2011, 2005, 2000).

In the 2014 Preseason WNIT Championship, Mississippi State topped Western Kentucky, 88-77.

The tournament features a three-game guarantee, so if a team loses in the championship bracket before it has played three games, it will play in the consolation bracket.

About the WNIT

The Preseason WNIT began in its modern form in 1994.  Since its inception, over 200 teams representing all 32 conferences have competed in the tournament.  The UConn Huskies have won the championship a record three times. It is organized and produced by Triple Crown Sports, a national sports event company based in Fort Collins, Colo. For more information on the WNIT visit: www.womensnit.com.