Thursday, August 9, 2007
NASHVILLE---In a poll voted on by the Ohio Valley Conference volleyball coaches and sports information directors, Kelly Davis was named to the Preseason All-OVC first team while Tennessee State was selected to finish fourth in the OVC race. Kelly Davis, a 5-10 senior from Farrell, PA was the lone Lady Tiger selected for the All-Conference team. In 2006, Davis was second on the team in kills per game with 2.92 and third on the team in digs with 3.19. Davis, one of four returning players, plays the positions of outside hitter and opposite side hitter. The Lady Tigers finished the 2006 campaign with an overall record of 20-14 with a 12-4 conference mark. In addition to the four returning players, TSU will welcome nine newcomers to the squad for the 2007 season. FIRST TEAM POS. CL. HT. HOMETOWN Abbey Breit, Jacksonville State MB/OH Sr. 5'10 Louisville, Ky.* Erin Peak, Morehead State MH Jr. 6'1 Georgetown, Ky.# Brittany Nobilio, Eastern Kentucky LIB Sr. 5'5 Johnsburg, Ill.* Heather Norris, Murray State LIB Jr. 5'3 Naperville, Ill.# Kelly Davis, Tennessee State OH/OPP Sr. 5'11 Farrell, Pa. Brittney Whitten, Jacksonville State OH So. 5'9 Boonville, Ind# Eliza Zwettler, Eastern Illinois OH Sr. 5'8 Fitchburg, Wis. SECOND TEAM POS. CL. HT. HOMETOWN Brenna Schlader, Southeast Missouri MB Sr. 6'3 Columbia, Mo. Katelyn Barbour, Morehead State S Jr. 5'9 Florence, Ky.# Kathryn Spraguge, Tennessee-Martin MB Sr. 6'4 St. Louis, Mo. Kappy Lang, Tennessee Tech S Jr. 5'8 Muncie, Ind. Amanda Lindgren, Tennessee Tech OH So. 6'1 Albuquerque, N.M. Rebekah Nichols, Jacksonville State OPP Sr. 6'1 Oxford, Ala. Cassie Chesney, Murray State S So. 5'3 Lake Carroll, Ill. * - 1st Team All-OVC in 2006 # - 2nd Team All-OVC in 2006 2007 OVC VOLLEYBALL PREDICTED TEAM ORDER OF FINISH (as Selected by OVC Head Volleyball Coaches and Sports Information Directors) 1. Jacksonville State (18 first-place votes) 197 2. Morehead State (Three first-place votes) 160 3. Eastern Kentucky 136 4. Tennessee State 134 5. Murray State (One first-place vote) 133 6. Southeast Missouri 125 7. Tennessee Tech 103 8. Tennessee-Martin 96 9. Eastern Illinois 63 10. Samford 33 11. Austin Peay 30