Softball Gains Another Split in Spring Tourney
Monday, March 1, 2010

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – Tennessee State softball split on the final day of the Tiger Spring Classic. The Tigers (2-7) dropped their first game of the day 1-0 to Indiana State (5-4), but bounced back to defeat Alabama A&M (2-6) 8-0 in five innings.

In the second game of the day, freshman Hannah Schnebly was two outs away from accomplishing a first in program history. Schnebly retired the first 12 Bulldog hitters and looked to be on her way to a perfect game. The first batter of the final inning laced a screaming line drive into centerfield and looked to end the bid, but freshman Tedra Alford was the hero for a moment with a spectacular diving catch.

On the next play, Alabama A&M’s Corissa Deadwyler hit a slow grounder to Schnebly but the Weatherford, Texas native was unable to come up with it cleanly. Once in possession of the ball she hurried a toss but to no avail. Schnebley (1-2) would go on to strike out the next two batters to register the fifth no-hitter in school history.

The TSU offense did the damage in the first inning sending 12 batters to plate and scoring seven runs. Junior Brittany Webb led the way with a 3-for-3 day, a double, a run, and two RBI. Senior Bridget Metzger added a double and a stolen base in a 2-for-4 day. Metzger also scored and drove in a run.

In the first game, Indiana State used a fifth inning double to push a run across against junior Caitlin Eaton. The Tigers had a chance to even the score at one in the bottom of the 6th inning. With two outs Senior Tamara Perkins singled up the middle to try and start a two-out rally. Junior Jalisa Bradley reached on the next play as the first baseman mishandled a throw to give TSU two runners. But the Sycamores were able to put out the fire for the 1-0 win.

Eaton dropped to 0-2 as she gave up the lone run on seven hits and three walks in 4.1 innings of work. Megan Headrick pitched the final 2.2 innings allowing just one walk, while striking out two.

NOTES:  It took 13 years before for the first no-hitter in school history. On March 5, 2007, Amanda Vaught accomplished the task against La Salle. Four days later, March 9, 2007, Stephanie Kemme registered a no-no versus Holy Cross. Caitlin Eaton recorded two no-hitters in 2009. Her first was on February 20th against IUPUI, while her second was against Ohio Valley Conference opponent Morehead State on April 11.

Day Two Scores
Indiana State 13  Valparaiso 5  (5 innings)
Valparaiso 11  Alabama A&M 1  (5 innings)
Indiana State 1  Tennessee State 0
Tennessee State 8  Alabama A&M 0  (5 innings)

Tiger Spring Classic All-Tournament Team
Meagan McCurdy, Sr., Indiana State
Jordan Rutkowski, So., Valparaiso
Brittany Webb, Jr., Tennessee State
Hannah Schnebly, Fr., Tennessee State
Alyssa Doyle, So., Indiana State
Bailey Wittenauer, So., Indiana State
Jennifer Hermanson, Fr., Valparaiso
Sara Strickland, So., Valparaiso
Christy Hill, Jr., Tennessee State
Jasmin Riley, Fr., Alabama A&M
Melanie Menchaca, Fr., Alabama A&M
Stephanie Johnson, Jr., Indiana State