TSU's Dr. Johnnie Smith to be Honored by GNABSE
Tuesday, May 19, 2015
TSU's Dr. Johnnie Smith to be Honored by GNABSE

NASHVILLE – The Greater Nashville Alliance of Black School Educators (GNABSE) will honor a class of outstanding students, community educators and advocates during its annual Awards and College Scholarship Gala on Sunday June 7, 2015 at 5:00 p.m. at Fisk University’s Jubilee Hall, Appleton Ballroom.

Tennessee State University Director of Academic Services, Dr. Johnnie Smith is among this year’s honorees.

The annual gala, which focuses on honoring excellence in education, also seeks to bring awareness to the unique needs of African-American students.

“I truly believe that the individuals that we are honoring represent the passion and determination it takes to ensure that our children receive an equitable and quality education in our school system.” said Donnie Crenshaw, GNABSE President. “They have all experienced marked success by rolling up their sleeves and doing the work necessary, including, at times, making the tough decisions, to ensure students have every opportunity at reaching their own levels of success by stressing education as the key to opening those doors.”

These distinguished individuals have made local, national, and international contributions to educators, students, and parents.  The Honorees for this year include:

Outstanding Teacher Award - Jonathan Bolding (Meigs Middle Magnet, East Literature Magnet and Madison Middle Prep)

Outstanding Principal Award - Renita Perkins (Taylor Stratton Elementary School)

Outstanding Achievement in Higher Education - Dr. Johnnie C. Smith (Tennessee State University)

Trailblazer Award - Dr. Charles E. Kimbrough (Past President of the NAACP NashvilleChapter)

Rosetta Miller Perry (Founder Tennessee Tribune/Contempora Magazine)         

Living Legend Award - Henry R. Flenory (Past Southeast Representative NABSE, Past President GNABSE, and Metro Nashville Board of Education)

Article courtesy Steven McCray