46 Tigers Honored by Ohio Valley Conference
Tuesday, August 5, 2014
46 Tigers Honored by Ohio Valley Conference
NASHVILLE, Tenn. – The Ohio Valley Conference released its list of academic awards for 2013-14 on Monday. Tennessee State University received two Medals of Honor and placed 46 student-athletes on the Commissioner’s Honor Roll.
Former women’s basketball player Maxine Beard and sophomore softball player Liz Stansberry both received Medals of Honor.
Student-athletes receive a Medal of Honor for maintaining a GPA of 4.0 or higher.
The men’s basketball team posted three players to the Commissioner’s Honor Roll: Patrick Miller, Ugo Manu, and Rhyan Townes. Maxine Beard, Diamond Beatty, I’Mani Davis, Alexis Haddock, Chelsea Hudson, Brianna Lawrence, and Julie McCarthy made it seven for the women’s basketball team.
Cameron Carter, Rodney Edwards, Leon Holderhead, Mazio Rhodes, Nick Thrasher, and Aaron Woods made the Honor Roll for the football team while the softball team had six players: Courtney Gearlds, Rebekka Gross, Ashley Haynes, Brianna Roberts, Tayler Shimizu, and Liz Stansberry.
Men’s golf landed four with Matthew Campbell, Dallas Hill, Shane Sampair, and James Stepp making the list. Women’s golf followed with four Honor Roll student-athletes, as well: Laura Bremer, Kelly Merkel, Sarah Needleman, and Natalie Spicer.
The men’s and women’s tennis teams combined for three with Jared Asher and Daniel Bernall representing the men and Adrianne Presley representing the women. Volleyball totaled four student-athletes with Arijana Anderson, Kathleen Burnett, Jaime Cooper, and Taylor Swayzer making out the list.
Rounding out the list from track and field are Shaquille Cragwell, Michael Johnson, Jalon McCutcheonNaffene BriscoeDestriney Fleming, Amber Hughes, Cierra Joshua, Jasmine Owens, and Sharmill Whyatt.