TSU Honors Student-Athletes at Annual Sports Banquet
Wednesday, April 24, 2013
TSU Honors Student-Athletes at Annual Sports Banquet
Nashville, Tenn. – Tennessee State administrators, coaches and support staff gathered on Tuesday night to honor all of TSU’s student-athletes in the annual sports banquet.
Among those receiving awards were men’s basketball Robert Covington and women’s basketball Simone Hopes, who were selected as the school’s Male and Female Athletes of the Year.
After brief introductions by Athletics Director Teresa Phillips and President Glenda Glover, each sport’s head coach advanced to the dais to hand out their respective awards.
Up first was Parrish McGrath who named Cameron Scitern the men’s Most Valuable Player and Denisha Mumford on the women’s side. Scitern was also honored as the team member with the highest GPA while Bria Norris took home the women’s academic achievement.
Tennis coach Robert Cain was next, and although he didn’t give any athletic awards, he did commend his team for its hard work all season long. London Thomas and Jared Asher were honored for their educational excellence.
Jeff Dabney approached the podium following Cain and he named Jennifer Givens as the softball team’s MVP. Tayler Shimizu was also recognized as the player with the highest grade point average.
Representing four sports, Chandra Cheeseborough gave Most Valuable Player awards to Oteia Prince and Adrian McDaniel for the women’s and men’s cross country teams. Ashontae Jackson and Royce Dates won the accolades for the TSU track and field squads. Taking home the team’s academic honors were Donnie Johnson and Jonathan Owens for the Flying Tigers, while LaTia Carney was recognized for the Tigerbelles.
Volleyball head coach Kathy Roulhac named Erika Moss and Naomi Wells Co-MVPs while Calasia Williams was acknowledged as the Tiger with the highest GPA.
Rod Reed followed to hand out a number of football-related distinctions. Among those chosen were Daniel Fitzpatrick (Defensive MVP), A.C. Leonard (Offensive MVP), Jamin Godfrey (Special Teams MVP), Samquan Evans (Defensive Line MVP), Sherman Carter and Rogers Gaines (Co-Offensive Line MVPs), Trabis Ward (Offensive Back MVP), Nick Thrasher (Most Improved and Academic Excellence Award), Andrew Taylor (Spirit Award), Steven Godbolt (Defensive Back MVP) and Travis James (Courage Award).
The TSU basketball teams doled out their awards next, starting with women’s coach Larry Inman. He awarded Simone Hopes as the team’s Most Valuable Player and Kesi Hess as the squad’s Most Improved. Chelsea Hudson and Avery Jones also shared the club’s top honors for their work in the classroom.
Travis Williams wrapped up the coaches’ awards as he chose Patrick Miller and Kellen Thornton as the men’s basketball team’s MVPs. Miller also took home the squad’s Academic Award, as well as the Defensive Player of the Year honor. Covington won the Coach’s Award, Tashan Fredrick earned the Pride Award and Jordan Cyphers attained the Leadership Award.
Assistant Athletics Director for Academic Services Dr. Johnnie Smith closed the night by recognizing Johnson and Owens as the male student-athletes with the highest GPA and Shimizu as the top female performer.

--TSU Tigers--