Perry and Papini headline TSU on the OVC Academic Achievement Lists
Wednesday, July 28, 2010

Nashville, Tenn. - Tennessee State University student-athletes, Jeremy Perry (Football) and Natalie Papini (Softball), are among the 145 recipients to receive the Ohio Valley Conference Medal of Honor for the 2009-10 season.

Perry and Papini's selection moves TSU's total OVC Medal of Honor count to 13 with 16 medals awarded.

Mercy Udoji (Women's Track and Field and Cross Country) gathered four medals from 2001-03 and currently holds the most OVC Medal of Honor awards among TSU student-athletes. In addition, Rashad Allen (Men's Track and Field) was the first Tiger to receive the medal after the 1993-94 season.

The Medal of Honor is given annually to the student-athlete who achieve the highest grade point average (4.0) in a Conference-sponsored sport. The 145 honorees were the most in the history of the award, surpassing the record of 136 in 2006-07. It also marks the sixth year in a row there were over 100 winners. All but one of the honorees achieved a perfect 4.0 grade point average during the year.

The OVC also announced that 1, 044 student-athletes were named to the 2009-10 OVC Commissioner's Honor Roll, equaling the most winners in the history of the award (tying the mark also set a year ago).

To be listed, recipients must have achieved at least a 3.25 grade-point average and have been eligible and on the team throughout the competitive season in their chosen NCAA-sponsored sport or sports.

While Perry and Papini headline TSU's recognition among the top OVC's academic award winners, 33 other Tigers were selected to the OVC Commissioner's Honor Roll.

The Softball and football teams led with eight. Women's basketball posted five with three athletes representing men's cross-country. Men's basketball and men's golf each recorded two. While men and women's tennis along with men and women's track and field, rounded out the list with one athlete apiece.

The list of TSU student-athletes that were named to the OVC Commissioner's Honor Roll include: (Softball) Susie Burke, Caitlin Eaton, Jill Gardner, Megan Hedrick, Bridget Metzger, Natalie Papini, Tamara Perkins, Hannah Schnelby; (Football) Ryan Berry, Enoch Hill, Hunter Howard, Jeremy Perry, Julian Sample, Charles Sparkman, Pierre Washington, Marques Wilkins; (Women's Basketball) Simone Hopes, Avery Jones, LaDona Pierce, Nikki Rumph, Meredith Stafford; (Men's Cross Country) Jamal Henderson, Dwayne Johnson, Printence McMurtrey, (Men's Basketball) Marcus Cowan, Wil Peters; (Men's Golf) Richard Gill, Cameron Scitern; (Men's Tennis) Lawrence Washington; (Women's Tennis) Meagan Haynes; (Men's Track and Field) Julian Mallory; (Women's Track and Field) Ashley Anderson; (Volleyball) Danielle Howell, Yamari Padilla-Collazo, Vicmari Prospero.