SAAC Committee receives service award
Monday, May 9, 2011

Nashville --- The Tennessee State University Student Athlete Advisory Committee received a 2011 Service Learning Award at the Community Partners Luncheon put on by the Center for Service-Learning and Civic Engagement.

The mission of the Center for Service Learning & Civic Engagement is to facilitate quality educational experiences through community-based service learning. The Center connects campus and community resources to create diverse learning experiences and to serve community needs.

The Outstanding Student Organization Community Service Award, given to the SAAC committee, was one of six awards distributed during the program.

According to the Center for Service-Learning & Civic Engagement, the Outstanding Student Organization Award is presented to a registered and "in good standing" student organization for implementing and outstanding community service program into their organization for at least two years.

The service-oriented organization selected as the recipient of this award will have demonstrated understanding of social responsibility by performing services that benefit the community and campus. This organization will have generously donated their time and skills, in order to improve the quality of life within our society.

 "To be acknowledged and also awarded for the efforts that SAAC, the athletic department and our student-athletes in general have put forth is great," said SWA/SAAC Advisor Valencia Jordan. "With the Food Drive, Think Pink, Soles4Souls and all the things that we've done, to have received recognition in terms of a service award, I think it's indicative of the commitment that our student-athletes have made to community service and service in general. Of all the things they will learn in this journey, I think that if they learn to serve, they are going to be successful."

2011 Service Learning Award Recipients

Undergraduate Student Service Award & Graduate Service Award - Linda Edwards (Undergraduate) & Marlow L. Frazier (Graduate)

Faculty Engaged Scholar Award - Stephen Patrick

Faculty Award for Exemplary Service-Learning - Dr. David Shen-Miller

Community Partner Award - Metro Nashville Public Schools (Pearl Cohn Cluster)

Outstanding Student Organization Community Service Award - Student Athlete Advisory Committee

Staff/Administrator Community Service Award - Ronald G. Brooks & Facilities Management