Tuesday, May 3, 2005
NASHVILLE --- The Tennessee State University Athletics Department honored its student-athletes for the 2004-05 at the banquet held April 26 in Kean Hall. Each athletics' team head coach presented specific team awards during the course of the evening. Recognition was also given to members of the training staff, cheerleaders, and the Tiger Gems dance team. TSU Director of Athletics Teresa L. Phillips presented six prestigious awards following the presentation of the respective team awards. The Female Academic Excellence award was received by tennis player Martene Fair while the Male Academic Excellence award was given to football team member Tewann Tepper. Each student-athlete received the award for the second consecutive year. Volleyball player Katherine (Katrell) Armwood received the Female Athlete of the Year award. Football player Paul Thomas was presented the Male Athlete of the Year award. Dr. James. A Hefner, who is retiring as TSU president, also addressed the banquet attendees near the conclusion of the event. Tennessee State University 2004-05 Athletics Award Winners Special Awards Academic Excellence Award Martene Fair-Tennis Tewann Tepper-Football Athlete of the Year Katherine (Katrell) Armwood-Volleyball Paul Thomas-Football Student Athlete Leadership Award Ivra Warren-Men's Track LaRaea Starr-Women's Basketball Academic Awards ( highest GPA on each team) Men's Basketball-Roshaun Bowens Women's Basketball- KaSheena Powe Men's Track- Patrick Robinson Women's Track- Ashley Byrd Football- Tewann Tepper Men's Golf- Jordan Roberts Women's Golf- Morgan Brown Softball-Tarah Evanisko Men's Tennis- Vaughn Evans Women's Tennis- Martene Fair Volleyball- Katherine (Katrell) Armwood Team Awards Golf MVP-Robert Dinwiddie Women's Golf Most Improved-Morgan Brown MVP-Jessica Nemnich Mens & Womens Tennis Most Improved-Charmaine Helms Most Improved-Vaughn Evans Vollyball MVP- Katrell Armwood Most Improved- Teresa Wright Coaches Award- Jennifer Washington Rookie of the Year- Kelly Davis Women's Track Indoor Co-Winners for Athlete of the Year Latheria Lewis and Jennifer Lawson Men's Track Indoor MVP- Buford Williams Outdoor MVP- Men's Basketball Hustle Award- Herley Maclin Best Defensive Player- Roshaun Bowens Best Rebounder- Rod Flowers Overall Best Offensive Production-Kareem Grant Top Assist- Wayne Arnold Most Improved- Riley Ervin Top Academic- Ro Bowens Co- MVP- Rod Flowers and Bruce Price Football Spirit Award- Bryson Walker Most Improved- Fred Burnette Rookie of the Year- Dominique Rodgers Back of the Year- Charles Anthony Lineman of the Year- Alfred Walker Special Teams Player of the Year- Paul Thomas Offensive Player of the Year- Charles Anthony Defensive Player of the Year- Almonte Duncan MVP- Charles Anthony