Ashontae Jackson and Royce Dates Awarded OVC Honors
Thursday, May 2, 2013
Ashontae Jackson and Royce Dates Awarded OVC Honors

Brentwood, Tenn. – On Thursday, the Ohio Valley Conference league office selected Tennessee State’s Ashontae Jackson as the Female Athlete of the Year and Royce Dates as the Male Co-Field Athlete of the year for this Outdoor Season.

Jackson competed in the 200m, 400m, 4x100m, 4x400m and long jump for Tennessee State this year.

As a part of the 4x100 meter team she helped set an OVC best time this season of 45.34 in placing first at the Vanderbilt Invitational on April 19. During that weekend, she had the second-fastest time in the league this year in the 400 meter with a time of 54.76 seconds.

Jackson and the Tigerbelles also finished the season with the OVC best time in the 4x400m with a mark of 3:45.24 in front of the nation’s best competition at the Florida Relays on April 6.

Jackson’s long jump distance of 20’1.75” was good enough to be the best jump in the OVC the season as well.

Royce Dates, who shares the honor of Male Field Co-Athlete of the Year with Southeast Missouri’s Kevin Farley, had the OVC’s best jump of the season in the long jump with a leap of 25’1.25” in front of his home fans at the Boston-Moon Relays on April 13. His performance in TSU’s sole meet on the Ed Temple Track earned him adidas® OVC Male Field Athlete of the Week.

Dates also competed in the triple jump and finished the season with the 2nd best mark in the conference (47’6.25”).

Dates, Jackson and the rest of the TSU track and field teams will look to take home more awards this weekend as the squads travel to Eastern Illinois for the OVC Outdoor Championships.  

2013 Outdoor Track and Field Athletes of the Year
Male Track Athlete of the Year: Wade Meddles, Eastern Kentucky
Female Track Athlete of the Year: Ashontae Jackson, Tennessee State
Male Field Co-Athletes of the Year: Royce Dates, Tennessee State; Kevin Farley, SEMO
Female Field Athlete of the Year: Jade Riebold, Eastern Illinois
Male Freshman of the Year: Calvin Edwards, Eastern Illinois
Female Freshman of the Year: Jessica Oranika, SIUE

--TSU Tigers--