TSU to Host OVC Cross-Country Championship, 2009 Cross Country Schedule Released
Tuesday, June 16, 2009

Nashville, Tenn. - Tennessee State University will play host to the 2009 Ohio Valley Conference Cross Country Championship.

The OVC Cross Country Championship will take place on Saturday, October 31st, at the Percy Warner Park in Nashville. All 20 OVC men and women's cross country teams will compete with eight runners per squad in the one-day event.

The TSU men and women's cross country teams released identical 2009 schedules with the Tigerbelles mirroring their 2008 campaign.

The teams will start the season off at the UTC Powerade Invitational hosted by UT Chattanooga on Friday, September 11th at the Moccasin Bend Course in Chattanooga, Tenn.

The following week, TSU will travel across town to participate in Vanderbilt's Commodore Classic on Saturday, September 19th, at Percy Warner Park in Nashville.

The week after, both teams will head to Atlanta, Ga. during the Atlanta Football Classic (TSU vs. FAMU) to compete in the Clark Atlanta University/Morehouse College Classic.

The meet will take place in the morning before the game at the Clayton County International Park on Saturday, September 26th.

On Friday, October 2nd, the Flying Tigers and Tigerbelles will venture to Cookeville, Tenn. to run in OVC-opponent Tennessee Tech's TTU Invitational at the Southern Hills Golf Course.

After a week off, both teams will return to Chattanooga to compete in UTC's Front Runner Classic on Saturday, October 17th at the Moccasin Bend Course. The classic will conclude the regular season a week before TSU hosts the 2009 OVC Cross Country Championship.

The TSU cross country teams both finished 10th last year and with only the Tigerbelles losing last season's top runner.

Rahab Kagaruki led the Tigerbelles finishing first on the team in five of six competitions. They will look to junior Jaleeca Jacobs who steadily completed the season as the Tigerbelles second runner. The Tigerbelles also return Jasmine Jacobs, Camille Zaidieh, and Pia Perez

The men will be led by last year's top finisher Anes Koko and in addition return four experienced runners in Isaiah Marshall, Phillip Myton, and Chris Hobbs.

Both Eastern Kentucky men and women's cross country teams captured the 2008 OVC crowns in cross country in Cape Girardeau, Mo. hosted by Southeast Missouri State.

Percy Warner Park - Nashville, Tenn.